Are You One of the Thirty-Six?

image1 (5)

It’s been months since I’ve had time to sit down and scribe one of my “Appointments with God” and I missed Him.

Now, I know that’s okay, because there are moments within my life when life happens and I can’t stop and say, “Well, I’ll work after I get done writing down something that I never want to forget!” or “I’ll stitch up your arm so you don’t bleed right after I’m done  with this important thought!”

No, there are moments when writing must wait, but today God graced me a little time and a great story that I never want to forget!

Within Grass Valley, CA. is a tiny store-y that we opened that sells things so we can buy comfort for hospitalized children. It’s probably the tiniest store-y in town. It’s a little “thrift-consignment” store that sells the products of others, and because each person who donates or creates something wonderful has a story, hence: we call our “25th of Remember” store, “The store-y!”

So, back to my store-y!

A few weeks ago one of my dear friends, Irene Masteller, donated a stack of books, so I did what I normally do… I wrote: Donated by: Irene,on the tag, added a price and then placed it on the shelf. Then last night as I was closing up, God put it on my heart to pick “one” book a week, read it, and then put the book up for sale so I can share with those who shop here why I believe they would enjoy the book.

The book I walked out with was titled: My Grandfather’s Blessings, written by: Rachel Naomi Remen, M.D.

Then this morning I grabbed a cup of coffee and started reading the book and within a moment I was in love with Rachel’s grandfather, and I wanted to call her and tell her that I couldn’t put the book down!

The book is a beautiful book about the lessons she learned from her grandfather. Her grandfather was an Orthodox rabbi and shared great lessons of life within his stories, and one story he shared made me cry…

The story told  dated back to the time of the prophet Isaiah. It’s the legend of the Lamed-Vov.

Do you know it? If not, no worries… I didn’t either.

The legend goes that God decided He would allow the world to continue as long as (at any given time) there is a minimum of thirty-six good people in the human race. People who respond to the suffering of others. These thirty-six people are called the Lamed-Vov. If at any time, there are fewer than thirty-six such people alive, the world will come to an end.

As she continues sharing her grandfather’s story she asked her grandfather if he knew these people and he replied, “No, Neshume-le, only God knows who the Lamed-Vovniks are. Even the Lamed-Vovniks themselves do not know for sure the role they have in the continuation of the world, and no one else knows it either. They respond to suffering, not in order to save the world, but simply because the suffering of others touches them and matters to them,” he answered.

It turns out that Lamed-Vovniks can be anyone within the world, “And because no one knows who they are, Neshume-le, anyone you meet might be one of the thirty-six for whom God preserves the world. It is important to treat everyone you meet as if this might be so,” said Grandfather.

When I finished reading the story God showed my heart that each day I’m touched by people I will never see again, but the moment they walk into my life they’ve touched my life and changed it.

I do know one thing. I agree with her grandfather. I have no idea who these thirty-six people are, but I’ll bet… YOU ARE ONE OF THEM!

And, as soon as I’m done reading the book I don’t want to sell it, but I want to share it. If you’d like to read it when I’m finished, please send me a personal email and I’ll send it to you. Then when you’re done reading it, you can sign your name within the book, and send it back and I’ll send it the next person on the list and so on and so forth. Then when the last person on the list is done reading it I’m going to send it to Rachel and show her how many people “one” book blessed!

If you’d like to read the book, please email me at:

ourstore-y@iloveowie.org

L.B.

Now, onward to seeing how many of the thirty-six of you I meet today!

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, God's Favor, Onward by Faith, Owie BowWowie, Rachel Naomi Remen MD

One response to “Are You One of the Thirty-Six?

  1. Terry Killoran

    YES. YES. YES. I would like to read it. And I believe you are one of the 36, in hearts of hearts of believe this to be true.

    Love you more, as always, Terry

Leave a Reply

