Growing Lessons!

My Garden

I can honestly write that since I was a child I’ve been planting seeds. When I was in elementary school, and would eat an apple, I would save my seeds and on my way out to the playground I would find a piece of dirt and plant them. I never actually saw any of my seeds come up, but just the same… I planted them.

As I got older, I began planting flowers and  small vegetable gardens, and when I got brave and understood how to take one seed and turn it into a bountiful harvest,  I planted hundreds of pumpkin and corn  seeds, and when the harvest arrived in the fall, thousands of visitors would stop by the field, picking their favorite pumpkin and getting lost within the corn.

I love to garden, but truth-be-told, I don’t like to garden because of the crops, but because it’s always been within my garden (whether big or small) where God shows me the simple lessons of life and yesterday I saw something I always want to remember.

In March I walked out to find my dirt ready to be planted, so I did what I always do,  grabbed my rake, and got busy drawing the lines of where I would plant my seeds. When I was happy with the design  I got busy planting. I always plant my herbs first, my vegetables second, and I finish up with flowers.  As always, I have a few flower seeds left over, and instead of saving them I find a spot where they can grow, and over the past several months— they’ve been growing.

Yesterday morning I went out to my garden and  noticed something I had never noticed  before…

My flowers!

I had a planted a beautiful row of Zinna’s and had a few leftover seeds so I planted them in their own special holes, and yesterday I noticed that the flowers that were planted together are now nearing 5′ tall, and the few plants that I planted alone, are barely 12″ and yet— they were both planted on the same day, and watered and cared for in the same way.

Then this morning as I was reading in Ephesians 4:16, I couldn’t help but smile when I read: 16 From him the whole body, joined and held together by every supporting ligament, grows and builds itself up in love, as each part does its work.

I finally understand why God designed corn to grow in groups of 4 seeds and squash to be planted in twos, and so on and so forth, and not that I didn’t understand it before, but because I got to see the “why”.

Everything that God created was created to join together. To work together. To support each other, and to grow and to build up one another in love. And,  when each of us start to do our part, that’s when life flourishes, because it’s not that we won’t grow…

Because we will!

It’s all about how high we can reach, and we can only do that when we reach out to help each other.

L.B.
Onward to the garden!

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Coffee, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, Gina Gippner-Woods, Gina Woods, GOD, God's Favor, Hope, Jesus

4 responses to “Growing Lessons!

  1. Kip

    What a wonderful lesson!

  2. Planting Potatoes

    and thus…the reason my own blog was born! It’s all about planting seeds and being able to trust and wait for God to let them grow….just think….all we need to do is the easy part! beautiful flowers…! God bless your garden!

Leave a Reply

