I AM!

It’s hard to believe that it’s been over six months since I’ve had a second to scribe the moments I never want to forget, and this morning a friend called asking, “Gina, are you okay? I used to follow your whereabouts through your Appointments with God, but became concerned when you disappeared. I actually thought you may have died or something!”

“Died?” 

“Well, yes. I’ve known you for decades and you’ve always had an appointment to share and when silence filled my in box I realized I had to make sure that you were okay.”

We laughed and then she asked, “No, really. How are you?”

I am fine!” I replied, but in the midst of answering her question I smiled because 10 minutes before she called I ran into my office to grab my purse off my desk and when I did I knocked my Bible off, and as I was picking it up it opened to Exodus 3:14, and I read: 14 God replied to Moses, “I Am Who I Am. Say this to the people of Israel: I Am has sent me to you.”

My friend and I talked a bit longer and when she was assured that I was fine she said, “Well, I can’t wait to read your next Appointment with God. I’m sure that it’s going to be an interesting one. At least, if nothing else… I will know you are alive!”

We laughed, said our goodbyes and off I left to run my errands, but as I was driving I couldn’t help but wonder if God didn’t open the Bible deliberately to Exodus 3:14,  and if God didn’t have my friend call to ask if I was okay, because I answered her the same way God answered Moses when I said… “I am fine!” 

Then I started thinking about the many questions that people ask God, and I realized that within the words, “I AM”  He is giving a simple answer to the truth of who He really is, and He did so, so that everyone could understand the simplicity of “I AM!” 

Questions people ask God… 

Question: “God are you real?”
God’s answer: “I AM!”

Question: “God are you with me?”
God’s answer: “I AM!”

Question: “Who is going to help me pay my bills?”
God’s answer: “I AM!”

Question: “Who is going to help feed my family?”
God’s answer: “I AM!”

Question: “Who is going to help me find a job?”
God’s answer: “I AM!”

Question: “Who is going to be with me when I’m ill?”
God’s answer: “I AM!”

Question: “Who is going to watch over my children when I can’t?”  

God’s answer: “I AM!” 

The list of questions goes on and on, but in the midst  of “I AM!” I realized that God used my friend today to show me why I haven’t had any time to scribe the moments that I never wanted to forget, and that was because I had become, “I AM!”

My list had gone from being a “TO DO” list to a “I AM” list, and within my head it went something like this…  

I AM going to accomplish this today, and when I AM done, I will make an appointment with God and I AM going to scribe what I want to remember! Or… I AM going to figure out how to get out of debt today and when I figure it out I will then write my appointment with God. It seems that for the past six months I became “I AM!” and when that happened, it seems that I had no time to remember all that I never wanted to forget.

I do now believe that God showed me who He is and who I am, and it’s by the grace of God I am what I am, and his grace to me was not without effect. 1 Corinthians 15:10

Onward to remembering… “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” John 15:5

 

1 Comment

Filed under Faith

One response to “I AM!

  1. Johnf596

    I actually got into this post. I located it to be fascinating and loaded with exclusive points of interest. I like to read material that makes me believe. Thank you for writing this fantastic content. ffeaekdaabgf

Leave a Reply

