IF YOU’VE EVER DONATED AN OWIE TO A CHILD… PLEASE READ! THIS IS FUR YOU!

I LOVE OWIE!

There are five things within my life that are important to me:

God

My family

My friends

Hospitalized Children

And, giving gifts of comfort to those who are hurting!

Yesterday (before my day began) I thanked God for my family, friends, and the opportunity to try new things  that would allow me to give gifts of comfort to hospitalized children and yesterday a friend of mine, Twyla Monte, invited me to her store to help her sell goods that would help raise money to give gifts of comfort to hospitalized children. I happen to run a non-profit called: Owie BowWowie and Friends, and Owie BowWowie is a stuffed plush dog who comes with his own bandages and is delivered with a hug to children who are hospitalized and in need of a FUR-EVER FURiend!

As I was getting in my car to leave my husband said, “Well good luck. I hope you have a great day!” When I replied, “I know that it’s going to be grand, because I know with all my heart I’m going to meet someone who is going to warm my heart!”

Around noon Twyla had to run an errand so I decided that I would take the Christmas ornaments out of her boxes and place them on her Christmas Tree when a woman walked in, and the two of us began chatting. We chatted for nearly an hour as she shopped around the store, and she began to tell me about her son that had problems. As she began to share her heart she stopped, and I could tell it was hard for her to share too much, so I simply listened until she came to some silverware that she wanted to purchase, but had no money and told me she would come back later. I gave her a hug, and continued  hanging ornaments on the tree.

A few hours later the woman came back in, walked straight over to the silverware and then when she had the items she needed she walked over to the counter, placed down her items and then looked over at me and said, “Oh, it’s Owie!”

I had brought in Owie BowWowie’s and had them sitting on the counter so we could share with each customer what we were raising the money for, and when she seemed to know who Owie was I asked, “Oh, you’ve heard of Owie BowWowie before?”

“Yes. My son has one!”

Then with tears in her eyes she said, “A few years ago I was standing in my kitchen doing my dishes when I heard a terrible screech and a child scream, so I threw my dishes in the sink, ran out to the street and found my son lying in a pool of blood. I couldn’t breathe. My sister was watching him outside when a car came around the corner and onto the sidewalk and the side-view mirror of the car went through my son’s skull. She composed herself for a moment and continued, “The ambulance came and they took him to Northridge Hospital where the doctors told me that they didn’t know if he was going to make it because of where the injury was and the loss of blood.”

I came around the counter and gave her a hug…

“When they did the surgery the doctor was able to fix his wound but we’d have to wait until the swelling went down in his brain to see what the actual damages would be. It seemed like a long time before he woke up and when he did we couldn’t get him to calm down. He kept crying, and crying, and crying, and crying, and crying, until finally the doctor told my son that he would be back with a special weapon that would help him. A little while later he walked in with a woman who had an Owie BowWowie for him. She pulled it out of the box and told my son that Owie was created just for him and that he was there to be his friend, and within in a moment my son stopped crying and held the little dog.”

Then she looked at me and of course I had tears in my eyes when she asked, “How do you know about Owie?”

“Long ago God inspired my heart to create him for hospitalized children.”

She gave me a hug and then pulled back and said, “What are the chances that I would come into the store today and find a toy that made my son stop crying. Are you the one who gave him to my son?”

“No, I’m not the one. There’s no way I could comfort all the children without the help of so many people who donate them to children like yours. If you look in the coloring book you will find the name of the donor who gave him to you!”

She said, “He didn’t get the coloring book because in my stress I forgot it at the hospital when we left, but if you could thank the person who you think gave it to my son…” She couldn’t speak anymore and I simply nodded.

“How is your son?”

She shared how he was doing, saying that with time he should be fine, but then she said again, “What are the chances that I would walk in this store today and meet you? How random!”

Now, I don’t believe that random acts of kindness are ever random, they are orchestrated like a symphony that practices each day for that one moment when they get to perform for those who arrive to hear something beautiful!

And, I wanted to share this story because if you’ve ever donated an Owie BowWowie to a child, this one could have been the one that you gave, and I love the fact that she wasn’t sure who gave it, because it doesn’t matter who gives the gift, what matters is that “WE ALL KNOW THAT IT WAS DELIVERED!”

I do all this for the sake of the gospel, that I may share in its blessings… 1 Corinthians 9:23

One of the definitions of gospel is:  Something, such as an idea or principle, accepted as unquestionably true, and for this reason I wanted to share its blessing with you!

L.B.

ONWARD TO SHARING THE BLESSINGS!

1 Comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, children's hospital, Friendship, Gina Gippner-Woods, Gina Woods, GOD, Hope, Owie BowWowie

One response to “IF YOU’VE EVER DONATED AN OWIE TO A CHILD… PLEASE READ! THIS IS FUR YOU!

  1. Amazing how God blesses us in great abundance when we love His children and minister to them. What a fantastic story to share!!! Thank you, Gina and thank you, Owie!

Leave a Reply

