Thinking Outside My Box!

Empty Box

Today I Googled the phrase, Think outside the box, and wasn’t surprised that within 0.24 seconds my search had resulted in 104,000,000 different thoughts on how to do that.

I even found its definition  which reads: Fig. to think freely, not bound by old, nonfunctional, or limiting structures, rules, or practices. (As if thinking or creativity were confined in or limited by a figurative box. Compare this with think inside the box.)

WikiHow actually gives 10 steps on how to think outside the box, and Facebook has a page with 74,664 followers and 6,905 people who (each day)  are thinking about the outside of their box!

It’s interesting to me how each person is looking for that something different , and the other day I found myself doing the same thing. I have been working on a creative project that no matter how hard I worked, I wasn’t finding the results in which I was looking for, so I started looking elsewhere.  I got online and looked for the inspiration of others, I phoned  friends! I went to the library looking for the right box to pull out a book  that would share information that would make me want to skip home, and when I didn’t find what I was seeking, I came home and started going through all my books, magazines, notes,  and that is when I found NOTHING!

I HAD NOTHING!

I can honestly share that at that moment I asked God to help me think outside the box and within a moment God gave my heart a visual of my box that  had the following inside:

A computer (that allowed me to Google the inspiration of others).

The friends (all the faces of those whom I called).

100 books (all the books I had rummaged through at the library).

And all my books and notes that I went through when I got home!

One by one (in a visual) I had pulled all the things that I had done out of my box, and when none of them worked what did I have?

AN EMPTY BOX!

I had run out of ideas!

It was at that moment I began thinking about what my heart and seen, and a few minutes ago I understood it!

What God was showing me was to think outside the box meant that I exhausted everything logical that I had known how to do, and therefore my box was now empty. It was at this point I realized He was the inspiration within my heart that couldn’t be placed within a box, and therefore it would be good  idea to look to Him and ask for help. The interesting part is I realized my true definition of what I read:  to think freely,( God gave me free will so I could think freely!)  not bound by old, (I’m not bound by the Old, but by the New.) nonfunctional,  or limiting structures,(God didn’t create me to be nonfunctional or limit me)  rules, or practices… (A reminder to me that I only have one ruler, and to simply practice my faith) in knowing that on the days when my box gets empty (if I simply ask for help) He will gladly put only what I need within my box to complete my task.

So, today I put an empty box on my desk that reads: Matthew 7:7  (Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you…) and I’m going to think outside the box in prayer and then fill it with all the things He inspires within my heart to finish my task at hand!


L.B.

Onward to thinking outside my box!

Leave a comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Bible, Faith

Leave a Reply

