THE CROSS

MyNecklace

 

 

Last night, as I was walking up the stairs to Lisa’s home,  I wasn’t sure what to expect. I had never been invited to someones home, (months after they had passed) but because Lisa’s family had sold the place she called home for over a decade, it was time to make a toast and share any memories before the keys would be handed over to another.

Entering I found an intimate gathering of those who truly knew Lisa and loved her through all the good times and the bad. Lisa had spent the majority of her adult life with Multiple Sclerosis, and towards the end of her life, she needed the love and care of her family and friends, and it was comforting to see that she was loved and cared for.

As I was sitting on the couch Lisa’s sister, Lorrie, brought out of some of Lisa’s things and asked me if I wanted anything, and as she was going through the small box she picked up a Cross  necklace and said, “Lisa, told me that you gave this to her, and I thought you might want it back.”

In the late 1990’s I was visiting my grandparents, when my grandfather looked over to me and said, “Gina, I’ve been telling you stories my whole life. Now, I want you to tell me ‘the’ story about the Jesus you talk about!” It was at that moment where I realized that he was inquiring about his salvation, so I shared the story of Jesus. When I was done my grandfather yelled into the kitchen, “Mama! I believe what Gina just said so I’m going to heaven when I die!” My grandmother peeked her head around the corner and said, “Jim, me too!”  A few hours later my grandmother went to the Dollar Store and when she returned she said, “Gina, I got you this because I don’t know anyone who loves Jesus as much as you do!” and she handed me a bright orange candle holder that read: I LOVE JESUS. Then she showed me a Cross  necklace that she had purchased for herself and walked out of the room.

In 2003 my grandmother passed away, and my mother thought that I would like the Cross necklace, and graciously accepting the gift, I placed it on my neck.

Now, I have this habit of always wearing a Cross around my neck. I only wear things that were given to me by other people, but there have been times where I have seen a need to give the gift away to another, and a few years back Lisa  was sharing with me about her accepting Christ into her heart and it was at that moment my heart told me to give Lisa my grandmother’s Cross.

So, I did!

Then last night, God put it on Lorre’s heart to give me the Cross necklace back.

When I got home I couldn’t help but think about the Cross and the gift that kept on giving… and it was within that moment where I understood Timothy 2: 7 Reflect on what I am saying, for the Lord will give you insight into all this.

The insight God gave me through this appointment with Him was that sometimes God asks us to do or to give things to others that we might not understand, but when it’s time, and we’re able to understand the true gift, that is when He gives it back to us, and the best gift of all is insight into all this! 

L.B.

Onward to God’s insight!

4 Comments

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Devotion, Faith, Friendship, Gina Gippner-Woods, GOD, God's Favor, Hope, Jesus

4 responses to “THE CROSS

  1. CarolSmith

    I loved you sharing this with our family Gina. I am so thankful that you were in Lisa’s life. Thank you so much for coming last night. You are truly a blessing. Carol

  2. When you cast your bread on the water you get it back.

Leave a Reply

