MY DEFINITION OF GIVING!

You

Today I woke up and wanted to crawl back into bed. Not feeling great today,  I put on my robe, grabbed a cup of coffee and came into my office. I’ve been sitting within my chair for nearly 4 hours working on one simple paragraph that would define the meaning of giving. Funny how the first thing I did was opened my Bible and  read through each verse that would give reverence to such an important subject, but to no avail my heart did not find what it was looking for. I then sat back in my chair and looked at all the photographs that line my office of children in hospitals receiving gifts of comfort, and I couldn’t seem to find the answer there either. As I was getting ready to put on my “To Do” list the word defeat next to “Write paragraph about giving!”  I decided I would Google definition giving! 

Funny how within the 50 definitions in which I found there was one that read,  To make a present of: We gave her flowers for her birthday.

But my heart heard… To make a presence!

THAT WAS IT!

That was what I was seeking and within a moment I realized that giving gifts to others isn’t about the gift that we give, but that we make a presence, because we are the gift. When we give a gift to another person we are saying to another that I value the gift of YOU, and the receiver of the gift (when they accept the gift is saying) I value the gift of YOU!

In the simplicity of my question, God showed me something beautiful. He was right. Jesus, His son, was the greatest gift He could give me because the message of Christ was… I value the gift of you, and  I when I  accepted his gift on the Cross it was because I valued the gift of him.

My prayer in sharing the definition of giving is next time it’s someone birthday, or they are having a bad day and you want to “give” them something… always remember that it’s the presence of you within their life that is the present.

How can we thank God enough for you in return for all the joy we have in the presence of our God because of you? 1 Thessalonians 3:9 

L.B.

Onward to simply being in the presence of giving!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Cancer, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, Gina Gippner-Woods, Gina Woods, GOD, God's Favor, Hope

Leave a Reply

