THE BLESSING!

Appointments with God Be the blessing

Yesterday my friend, Linda and I, had a scheduled meeting with a friend in Santa Monica. As we were trying to remember where his office was we Googled him and found the address that was listed. Not sure if that was the correct address we decided we would park in the underground parking structure and go up to the lobby to see if we had arrived at our destination.  As we were driving through the parking structure we couldn’t seem to find a spot that read: GUEST, when I asked, “Where are we supposed to park?”

“Over here. Park right here!” a voice shouted.

I looked over to my right and there was a man standing in a parking space and I looked at Linda and the two of us SMiled.  “Linda, where did he come from and how did he know what we needed?”

Linda and I got out of the car and the man greeted us with his SMiling face, “Hey, how did you know we didn’t know where we should park?”

“I heard you coming! When people know where they are going they race through the parking structure, but when someone is lost, they drive slow and the parking structure shakes, and that’s when I get out of my chair and come to place in which people are looking for.”

The man continued to chat with Linda and I, and it turned out he was Christian, and as we were walking into the building, Linda gave him an angel pin and told him that he was an angel.  As I was  walking away he looked at me and said,  “You want to live your life in such a way that you don’t have to knock on someone’s door when you need help, but that your friends will knock on your door to ask if you need help!”

I turned back and he was SMiling. He had the most beautiful SMile and I believe Linda may have been right. He just might have been an angel, because when we went up to the lobby we were told that we were in the wrong building, and as we were walking back to the car we told him we were in the wrong place, and he shared with us that God had sent us to the parking structure for a blessing.

As we were driving away I waved out the window and he held up the angel pin Linda had given him, held it close to his heart and said, “I will keep my wings forever!”

All night I kept thinking about the angel in the parking structure and the way he was waiting to show us where to park. How he knew what we needed by the speed in which we were driving, and a few minutes ago I realized the blessing he was sending us through his message.

 

Many times I’ve heard the words Jesus shared which read: “Keep on asking, and you will be given what you ask for. Keep on looking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened. For everyone who asks, receives. Everyone who seeks, finds. And the door is open to everyone who knocks.”  Matthew 7: 7-8

The way I’ve been taught this verse is that it applies to “my” needs, but now, after seeing the angel who was waiting for us in the parking structure, I realized that what he was sharing was the importance of doing for others, because he paid attention to the needs of others, and instead of him sitting in his chair waiting to be “asked” where we should park, he was up and ready to show us where to park!

Every picture that I’ve ever seen that relates to Matthew 7: 7-8 is a picture of Jesus standing at the door knocking, hoping that someone will open it, and all he ever wanted to do was help! I now believe that this verse isn’t so Christians can pray that God gives us the desires of hearts, but that we look to see how we can help others receive the desires of their hearts. It’s about us knocking on others doors and helping them, because I don’t remember an example of Jesus ever knocking on a door asking for help, only giving help away!

From this day “onward” I will forever remember the angel in the parking structure and I completely understand the message that Christ was sharing in Matthew 7:7-8. It’s simply… Be the blessing!  

 

L.B.

Onward to the blessings!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, Gina Gippner-Woods, Gina Woods, GOD, God's Favor, Hope, Jesus

2 responses to “THE BLESSING!

  1. What a marvelous “coincidence”, this writing and the information I have been wanting to share with you. Onward to a multitude of Owies!

Leave a Reply

