THE TINY BIRD AND THE MUSTARD SEEDS…

mustard tree

Within the midst of my garden is a tree stump. Last fall one of our trees died and my husband cut it down. He wanted to take the whole stump out but I asked him to leave it. I said, “The stump will be my “Giving Tree” and when spring arrives I will remember the tree and the tree will remember me!”

This morning  as I was coming into my office I remembered the tree and decided I would take my coffee and go “sit” for a moment. As I was sitting a tiny  bird came and landed on my leg. Too young to be fearful, the tiny bird looked up at me and began to chirp. At first I was afraid to move. I didn’t  want to startle my new  friend, but without fear the tiny bird just kept chirping away. When he was done saying all he had to say he flew away and I decided I would sit a little longer and finish my coffee, but as I was getting up to come into my office the tiny bird returned only this time he opened his little beak and tiny seeds fell into my lap. Now, I’m not a young woman, and I have experienced many beautiful moments within my life, but this  was one that I will never forget, and within a moment I knew exactly why God had the tiny bird bring me “my” seeds.

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted my Appointments with God, because I’ve been rather busy working on the non-profit that God put within my heart. For the past weeks I have spent my time praying and working, but usually I want to remember all the wonderful things that God does within my life,  and each time I went to write something down, something that was work related appeared. For the past few days I was feeling guilty because I wasn’t keeping my promise of “writing” to “remember” but what God showed me this morning was the promise of the Mustard Seed.

 

The birds next beside the streams and sing among the branches of the tree. Psalm 104:12

6 The birds nested in its branches, and in its shade all the wild animals gave birth to their young. All the great nations of the world lived in its shadow. Ezekiel 31:6

31 Here is another illustration Jesus used: The Kingdom of Heaven is like a mustard seed planted in a field. 32 It is the smallest of all seeds, but it becomes the largest of garden plants and grows into a tree where birds can come and find shelter in its branches.” Matthew 13: 31-32

30 Jesus asks, “How can I describe the Kingdom of God? What story should I use to illustrate it? 31 It is like a tiny mustard seed. Though this is one of the smallest of seeds, 32 it grows to become one of the largest plants, with long branches where birds can come and find shelter.” Mark 13:31-32

You see, I was busy working on a project that God put  in my heart to do, and what the tiny bird reminded me this morning is that I needed to remember the mustard seed because what I’ve been working on was my seed that God gave me to plant.

When  God gave me the seed (the desires of my heart) I had to take the time to plant it.  Then once my seed was firmly in the ground I had to learn how to tend to it. As it grew I had to watch over it. I had to make sure that those who came along to help grow the plant had the same desires, and after 25 years of growing that one seed, now there’s a tree and many people God has sent to help keep the tree of comfort growing so that others would find shelter within its branches.

Friendships and love are the shelter that God brings us when we tend to the desires that He puts within each of our hearts, and I believe that God gives us each “one” tiny seed to plant and He comes to each of us within the silence of our hearts and says, “Are you ready to plant your seed?”

I believe some are born to know what their seed represents. Jesus knew.

I also believe there are many like me who were given a seed, but was so afraid to plant the seed out of fear they would kill it. I mean once a mustard seed is planted, you can’t really dig it up because it’s so darn small it gets lost within the dirt, and once it starts to grow you either have to tend to it, give it to someone else to tend to, or sit back and watch it die.

Today I would like to give you a gift!

I would like you to remember the desire that God has placed within your heart.

Do you remember what that was?

When you know what it is then  please take your seed out into your garden and plant it. Once you plant it, mark it with your dream. Tend to it, and as you are tending to the desires within your heart, make sure you  ask God how He wants you to tend to your dream and I promise you that soon you will create branches… Though this is one of the smallest of seeds, 32 it grows to become one of the largest plants, with long branches where birds can come and find shelter.” Mark 13:-32

L.B.

ONWARD TO MY GARDEN!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, Gina Gippner-Woods, Gina Woods, GOD, God's Favor, Hope

Leave a Reply

