GOT SOAP?

Wash your hands

It’s interesting how each day someone I know gets hit with an adversity. It’s almost like being hit with the common cold.  BAM!

It dawned on me today the older I get the more adversities I get to meet, and it seems that even though I’m not as physically strong as I used to be… my emotional self seems to become stronger with each passing day. 

Yesterday I came into my office and before I started work I actually looked up to heaven and prayed specifically for my children, husband,  friends, and then went about my business. At the end of the day my daughter  came into my office and shared the events that transpired within her day, and when she was done she said, “Why did this happen?”

When she finished asking the question I actually shared with her the prayer I had prayed for her, and for a moment my heart hurt for her… but only a moment. It was amazing because I knew that I couldn’t fix what had transpired, but realized that she was wise enough to figure it out, and she would become stronger for having gone through it.

It’s funny how moments make me think. All day today I was thinking about how I pray for those I love, and when something happens to them, I want to fix it. I’m sure that’s how God feels when someone He loves looks up to heaven and prays. I’m sure He would love to fix the world for each of us, but knows that there are moments within our lives where we need to repair what we “believe” is broken.

Looking back on my life and what I thought I would never be able to get through… Here I am. I got through it, learned something grand from it, and every now and again, can use the lesson to encourage another.

The one thing I do like about adversities is they remind to pray for many things like: wisdom, strength, forgiveness, to be more thoughtful of others, to be more organized, to stay away from too much chocolate,  and to remember that while I can’t control the common cold…

I can remember to wash my hands.

And the interesting part is I now  completely understand what this means…

“Nevertheless, the righteous will hold to their ways, and those with clean hands will grow stronger”. Job 17:9

L.B.

ONWARD TO THE SOAP!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, Gina Gippner-Woods, Gina Woods, GOD, God's Favor, Hope, Jesus

2 responses to “GOT SOAP?

  1. dukedoc76

    Hi Gina.I have been swamped under with stuff to do.and at the same time, quite bored! Anyway..It is always a blessing to read your so very insightful ponderings. Know that you are appreciated, loved as a dear sister in Christ, and prayed for in the same. Have a richly blessed, and clean-handed day!

    _____

Leave a Reply

