MY FAVORITE GIFT OF ALL…

Jesus

I love gifts that make me think and this Christmas I received such a gift.

Opening my first present I felt all the excitement that I once felt when I was a child. What is within the wrapped box? 

I needed nothing. Asked for nothing, but yet there was a present wrapped and delivered with my name on it, and as I was opening the gift I realized that receiving a gift is just as wonderful as giving one!

My gift was given to me by my brother and his wife, and as I opened it I could see a hint of uncertainty on their faces. Did they get me the right gift? It wasn’t until I opened it, SMiled, and thanked both of them did I hear, “Oh good. We didn’t offend her.”

What was my gift?

Jesus. I received a Jesus doll, and when the night came to a close my husband shared with my family that I keep a Nativity Set out all through the year. Within the set is baby Jesus, lying in the manger, and when my husband wants to see if I’m paying attention to the Nativity Set he will take baby Jesus out of his manger and will place him in another spot. If I haven’t noticed that Jesus has been moved he will ask, “Where’s baby Jesus? Where did he go?” As he shared the story he took my gift and placed him on the mantel and said, “Now, I’ll be able to hide this Jesus too!”

Of course the next morning my husband found a secret hiding place for Jesus and asked, “So, where is Jesus today?” I walked around my 600 sq. ft. home and couldn’t seem to find him. At one point my husband was getting frustrated and said, “Gina, Jesus is right in front of your face. I can’t believe you don’t see him!” I took a moment and sure enough, Jesus was right in front of my face. I FOUND HIM!

For the past two weeks I’ve been thinking about that moment and how frustrated my husband became when I wasn’t able to find Jesus right away, but truth-be-told, God used that moment to show me how there have been many times within my life where I’ve been frustrated with other people when they couldn’t find Jesus when I was explaining him to them. I believe that this Christmas the best gift I’ve ever received was a reminder that finding Jesus is both a journey and a destination, and I never want to hinder someone from their journey towards their destination.

In his heart a man plans his course, but the LORD determines his steps. Proverbs 16:9

L.B.

Onward to finding Jesus!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, Gina Gippner-Woods, Gina Woods, GOD, God's Favor, Hope

Leave a Reply

