A BREATH OF HEAVEN APPEARED!

Mary

This morning my dear friend Jan Moon, sent me a link to the song, Breath of Heaven (Mary’s Song) Written by: Amy Grant. As I was pouring my first cup of coffee I hit the play button and listened, and as  the music played I started to cry.  The words seemed to transform me back to the moment when I was pregnant with my son. The words sing:

I have traveled
Many moonless nights
Cold and weary
With a babe inside
And I wonder
What I’ve done
Holy Father
You have come
Chosen me now
To carry your son

I am waiting
in a silent prayer
I am frightened
by the load I bear
In a world as cold as stone
Must I walk this path alone
Be with me now
Be with me now

Chorus:
Breath of Heaven
Hold me together
Be forever near me
Breath of Heaven

Breath of Heaven
Lighten my darkness
Pour over me, your holiness
For your holy Breath of Heaven

Do you wonder
As you watch my face
If a wiser one, should of had my place
But I offer all I am
For the mercy of your plan
Help me be strong
Help me be
Help me

Written by: Amy Grant

It’s amazing how connected I felt to this song, because  I too felt that,  I had traveled many moonless nights cold and weary with a babe inside. I too wondered what I had done, and why the Holy Father had chosen me to carry my son!

The day my son was born, and I first held him, I remember looking in the mirror in my hospital room, wondering, If a wiser one, should  of  had my place.  And then something wonderful happened. My son cried, and I was the only one in the hospital room,  and that was the moment I told  God I was frightened by the load I bared  and didn’t want to walk the path alone.  I asked him to lighten my darkness, and pour over me the Holy Spirit, and to keep me strong as I raised the son He had given me. 

I believe with all my heart that had Jesus arrived unannounced, and wasn’t born  unto Mary, the connection of love never would have transpired. People need to understand the value of love, and it isn’t until we carry the “burden” of love do we understand the value of it.  I only say this because if during the time of Jesus, had he just plopped out of the sky, showed up at the house of a stranger and said, “Good afternoon. I would like to introduce myself. My name is Jesus. I am God… the one you are seeking, and I will be staying with you for a while…” people would have politely declined and doors would have been shut. But… when a baby is born, family and friends gather. They wait in anticipation of the  new addition to their family. Celebrations arrive and that is where stories begin.

Each day babies are born unto the world and are such a grand reminder that on one special night a breath of heaven appeared…

The Birth of Jesus

1 In those days Caesar Augustus issued a decree that a census should be taken of the entire Roman world. (This was the first census that took place while  Quirinius was governor of Syria.) And everyone went to their own town to register.

So Joseph also went up from the town of Nazareth in Galilee to Judea, to Bethlehem the town of David, because he belonged to the house and line of David. He went there to register with Mary, who was pledged to be married to him and was expecting a child. While they were there, the time came for the baby to be born, and she gave birth to her firstborn, a son. She wrapped him in cloths and placed him in a manger, because there was no guest room available for them.

And there were shepherds living out in the fields nearby, keeping watch over their flocks at night. An angel of the Lord appeared to them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were terrified. 10 But the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid. I bring you good news that will cause great joy for all the people. 11 Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; he is the Messiah, the Lord. 12 This will be a sign to you: You will find a baby wrapped in cloths and lying in a manger.”

13 Suddenly a great company of the heavenly host appeared with the angel, praising God and saying,

14 “Glory to God in the highest heaven,
    and on earth peace to those on whom his favor rests.”

15 When the angels had left them and gone into heaven, the shepherds said to one another, “Let’s go to Bethlehem and see this thing that has happened, which the Lord has told us about.”

16 So they hurried off and found Mary and Joseph, and the baby, who was lying in the manger. 17 When they had seen him, they spread the word concerning what had been told them about this child, 18 and all who heard it were amazed at what the shepherds said to them. 19 But Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart. 20 The shepherds returned, glorifying and praising God for all the things they had heard and seen, which were just as they had been told.

21 On the eighth day, when it was time to circumcise the child, he was named Jesus, the name the angel had given him before he was conceived. Luke  2: 1-21

ONWARD TO TREASURING  UP ALL THESE THINGS AND PONDERING THEM WITHIN MY HEART!

To my dear friend, Kelly Barker, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!  YOU ARE A TREASURE WITHIN MY HEART! 

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Gina Woods, GOD, God's Favor, Hope, Love Letters

4 responses to “A BREATH OF HEAVEN APPEARED!

  1. Jan Moon

    Thank you for sharing tjid dong with your followers. Today my dearest cousin welcomed her first grandchild into this world. She raised her daughter alone yet not alone because over 2000 years ago Jesus was born and came to save the world and be a father to the fatherless. Because of Him she raised a daughter who knows Jesus and has a wonderful husband and now a baby daughter of her own. Without Jesus none of this would be posdible

  2. Redbird Global

    I savor your Appointments and look forward to them.  How delighted I was to find that not only was it a lovely message on the Breath of Heaven…..but I too had a message within.   Thank you for your friendship, your love, and your partnership.  I cannot imagine a time when you were not present in my life….but you are the daily present to me.   Onward to great tidings for all.    Love.   Barker  

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

