1-1-1 to 12-12-12

 

 

AppointmentwithGod12Today is 12-12-12, the last major numerical date using the Gregorian or Christian calendar for almost another century. The next time three numbers will align  will be on Jan. 1, 3001, or 1-1-1. Another 989 years, and the future will be looking back at us wondering about the century before them.

It’s interesting, because the writer in me recorded  each time the calendar aligned, and this morning I read what I wrote.

1/1/1: This morning was beautiful. I can’t believe my children are 17, 15 and 13. Where did the time go? Well, it’s another New Year, and it seems that no matter how hard I try my life seems to stay the same. I still have to get up each morning, take a shower, care for my family and the farm, and I still can’t seem to fry an egg without burning it. Although I must pen this down…  there’s comfort in knowing while I know there have been things in my life that have changed, I have chosen to the keep the simple, simple. Praying this year finds all those I love healthy, happy and simple. HAPPY NEW YEAR!

2/2/2: It’s interesting how today will never happen again. Today the cows got out of the barn and I had to chase them around the barn two times, and that made me laugh because today is 2/2/2. I’ll always remember this day. Kids were great. Helped with all the chores, and I didn’t even have to ask. Well, tomorrow is another day and I pray that tonight remains peaceful for all those I love!

3/3/3:  Today I can’t seem to stop crying. Glenn is leaving in a few days for boot camp, and the emotions that are flowing are almost too much to bear. Why? Why does the world need to fight with one another? I went to a Marine Mom breakfast the other day and the woman talking shared that in the event something happened to my son I would be notified first. Really? Why? Why did she have to say that? Why would I want to hear that? Why do the facts of the what ifs of life have to even be shared ? I know that if something were to happen to him I would notified. My God… I’m his mother. I will never forget today. I’ve spent my life taking care of my son and there’s not another person on this earth who loves him as I do, and at this moment I can’t breathe.  Now, I know that I raised Glenn in Youth in Government. I wanted him to know the history of those who fought for our freedom. I guess the mother in me was hoping that would be enough. I guess that he has decided that instead of reading history he wants to be a part of it. Okay. That makes me feel better. Now, I’m going to try to sleep, and from this day forward I will pray for my son and all the sons and daughters of those who serve to make it home to all of us who are waiting for them. Now, if something were to happen to me (before he returns home) I want to write this… Glenn, I love you and even though I can’t seem to stop crying, I want you to know that I’m proud of the man you’ve become, and whatever happens within this life, I will love you into the next! 3/3/3, a day I will always remember.

4/4/4 Well, today is another day I will always remember. Glenn is in Iraq, the girls are having a hard time, and all I can do is try to pretend that my heart isn’t breaking. I’ve feel blessed. I love my Marine Moms that I’ve met online. They are sending Glenn birthday cards to Iraq. Amazing. I have to admit, his attitude is wonderful and I love that I was able to receive an email from him. I cherish it and read it each day…  Note to self, the email is about: Club Baghdad. Well, the hogs are squealing. Must be feeding time.  Continued prayers for all those who are serving and those who love them!

5/5/5 Oh my gosh, today is the fifth of May, and I decided to celebrate May Day with my girls. I went to the store and purchased some flowers and candles. When they came home from school the girls and I had a wonderful dinner and then I shared with them their gifts and told them that 5/5/5 was a day that we would never experience again and that it should be remembered. I love my girls. This past year has been very hard.  I’m single now, and it’s been hard trying to keep the house, the girls smiling, and I miss Glenn. We don’t seem to have as many farm animals as we used to, but it seems I’m about ready to get rid of them too. Since all the changes of life, the girls don’t want to do all the chores anymore, and I don’t blame them. I don’t either. Well, here’s to 5/5/5, and I love the fact that this day will never happen again. I love that some days in life I will never have to do over!

6/6/6 June 6, 2006, has been an amazing day. It’s interesting how when I decided to change my life, it all changed. God is amazing.  It’s like all I have to do is show up each day, give Him my day, and He gives it right back to me. So, in the simplicity of  life,  I am  going to give today to the Lord and thank Him for all the blessings that I have received. Thank you God, for keeping all those I love safe, and giving me the strength to get through each moment with each day.

7/7/7 Today is the day that I wanted to get married, but Kenny now moved the date up to October. He says it’s because he wants to finish the water feature so the yard will be finished. I don’t blame him since we’re getting married at his home. I told him if we got married today he would never forget the day. He told me that since he’s never been married before, the day he gets married is a day he will always remember. I love today. The past few years have been  hard, but today… God is making all things new. A new life filled with hope.  Praying the world is as happy as I am at this exact moment!

8/8/8  Today was just a beautiful day. Nothing major happened, but again a day that I will always remember. Nothing that I need to write down, I just wanted to remember that I was here the day it turned 8/8/8!

9/9/9 Interesting. Today I went to the doctors and it turns out I have a large tumor. It was interesting because after the ultrasound, the doctor shared that he wasn’t sure what my outcome was going to be, and when he shared the news I wasn’t worried. I have no fear of death, dying, or another day and what today may bring. I’ve seen the world, and I’ve seen heaven, and I believe that whatever days I am blessed with will be the days that I was meant to receive. My goodness. I give toys to children who don’t even get to live past five, and God has blessed me with more love than any one person should be able to receive. So, here’s to today. September 9, 2009. If today were the last day God allowed me to receive… I’ll see all those I love in heaven! ONWARD!

10/10/10 It is now nearing 12 midnight. I just got out of bed because I almost forgot to remember today. At this moment my husband is sleeping, and my house still smells like the pot roast  I made tonight for dinner. This moment reminds me of a Norman Rockwell painting where within each painting one sees nothing more than peace. October 10, 2010 I will never see again, but I’m blessed that at this moment peace arrive, and if  God Blesses me another day I may see 11/11/11. Onward!

11/11/11 Today is an interesting day. I may have to let go of part of my heart. Kenny told me this week that I have to do something different. I either have to find others who want to give comfort to kids or I have to go get a job. Okay. I understand what he’s saying. It’s hard for me because I do what I do because I believe with all my heart that God brought me to this place within my life. But… I also know that my husband is right. One can not keep giving when one has nothing to give. (Even though I keep trying!) Anyway, today is 11/11/11, and God it’s up to you. You decide. I will do what Kenny asks and look for a job, but please lead my heart where you want it to be and everyone will benefit. I do nothing for the fear of having money or not having money. I do because my heart can only do what it knows. So, today I’m going to remember this moment.

November 11, 2011, is the moment in which God will lead help to me or God will lead me to help another, and the wonderful part is when I read it like that… HELP IS ON IT’S WAY!  Saying goodnight to the dreams within my heart, and continued prayers for all those who dream!

12/12/12 As I was reading through my appointments of the past 11 years I realized the simplicity of why I have been penning them.  No matter how many days I’ve spent time worrying, I realize that  each time I reread an appointment within my life I’m reminded that God has always gone before me. He’s always been within my heart and as long as I look to the things within His world, and not mine… peace arrives instantaneously. My life has changed drastically over the past 11 years. Where I thought I was going to be, is not where I ended up, but where He placed me… is where I was meant to be.   I hope that 989 years from now, when people reflect back on those of us today, they too will find our words and realize that were simply looking for the same things. Peace, love, and hope for the world,  and that the only truth to change comes within the date on a calendar!

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. Jeremiah 29:11

ONWARD TO 12/12/12

And to Shirley, I love you! xo

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, Hope

Leave a Reply

