The Potters Wheel…

This morning a  friend of mine sent me a picture of her work of art. It was a vase that she made for  her dear friend who has been ill, and because her friend loves to collect vases for the all the beautiful flowers she grows in her yard, my friend knew she could provide a gift that would be treasured.

As I was looking at the picture my phone rang and it was her on the other end.

“Gina, can you believe that for the past 11 years I have been sitting at my potter’s wheel making things that I never knew what to do with. When I heard my friend was ill I knew exactly what to make for her. The cool thing was that for the first time in my life I didn’t hesitate. I immediately went to my wheel and started creating this beautiful vase. At one point (as the wheel was turning) I had to think that God had me practice for such a time as this!”

The two of us continued to chat, and when she hung up I immediately understood what was written…

Yet you, Lord, are our Father.  We are the clay, you are the potter;    we are all the work of your hand. Isaiah 64:8

It’s funny. There are many sermons that are written about the potter and the clay, but in the simplicity of my friend wanting to give a gift that would be appreciated, remembered, and made with love, I realized that within the lives of each of us God can have us work at a craft for years or seasons so that when the moment arrives that we are meant to produce it and give it away… we know exactly what to do and who to do it for.

Last night my son told me that he lost his job. His company is closing down come the first of the year. He’s a young man, married, with two children, but after seeing such a beautiful vase that was created for such a time as this… I know that all of us  who are wondering about our future and the futures of all those we love are going to be just fine.

How do I know this?

Because we are all the clay and God is the Potter, and as long as we stay faithful, patient, and let Him mold our hearts, He will lead each of us to where we’re meant to be.

For such a time as this!

Onward to the potter’s wheel I go!

Leave a comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, God's Favor

Leave a Reply

