I LOVE…

This morning I had errands I had to do and as I was driving home I actually said out loud, “I LOVE MY LIFE!”

I love my husband, my children, my granddaughters, my family and all my friends. I love my dogs, and I love giving gifts of comfort to children and those who need a friend. I love when the fall arrives, and the leaves make room for new growth. I love when stores start decorating for the holidays and people dust off their cookie sheets, turn on their ovens, and the smell of chocolate arrives. I love that the world stops for a moment and thinks about what gifts they’re going to buy for others. I love that family and friends gather together and put their differences aside. I love that people feed the hungry and clothe the cold. I love the lights that adorn the houses, and the different customs that people share during the holiday season. I love that I have the freedom to celebrate Christmas and the Birth of Christ, and I love my friends who love me even if they don’t believe in the reason for the season in which I celebrate!

I could probably sit here for hours writing about all the things that I love, but the one thing  I learned as I was chatting with myself was the fact that I love the fact that no matter what people believe  this time of year it seems to represent giving to others.

Now, that immediately made me think of the day Christ was born, and the Three Wise Men who came bearing gifts of gold, frankincense and myrrh. There’s much to the story of the Three Wise Men, and many churches have shared what they believe the symbolism is of why the gifts were given, but today I was wondering if the Three Wise Men brought gifts for one simple reason only… and that was when one gives a gift of love, they are always remembered.

I’m sure there were others who showed up for the birth of Christ, but it seems that the givers of the gifts are the ones who are remembered.

11 On coming to the house, they saw the child with his mother Mary, and they bowed down and worshiped him. Then they opened their treasures and presented him with gifts of gold, frankincense and myrrh. Matthew 2:11

This holiday season my prayer for anyone reading this is to always remember that if you happen to believe in the reason for Christmas the gift of Christ was the death of Christ, and I know of no greater gift to receive than the love of someone who “gladly” would give their life for another.

Onward to Christmas!

 

6 Comments

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, God's Favor, Hope, Jesus

6 responses to “I LOVE…

  1. Shirley Gonzalez

    Hi Sweetie!

    I just love your inspiration words! You are such Amazing Person inside and out and I admire you in everything you do!

    Love always,

    Shirley

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Right on! Onward to Christmas, every day!

  3. The day won’t end well unless of course I read your content. Good job so keep it up!

Leave a Reply

