FREE STUFF…

For the past few weeks I’ve been receiving hundreds of “daily deals” sharing retail stores and their daily doorbusters. Man, it’s almost overwhelming. There’s everything from Apple Computers to Zebra’s stuffed with love. The list of  what I can receive for free or at a significant discount are almost too much to keep up with.

A few days ago I was at the gas station and  overheard this conversation between two friends.

“We better fill up our vehicles today, because we’re on a mission this week to get all the free stuff!”

“Yeah, and I can’t believe my husband is upset that I’m not going to be home for Thanksgiving. Doesn’t he know that Best Buy is selling televisions for next to free!”

“I know, but I was wondering who you were going to give the television to?”

“I’m keeping it!”

“Why would you keep it? You already have a television in each room of your home?”

“I know, but what if one breaks?”

When the two women got back in their car I sat for a moment and wondered when Thanksgiving became about “stuff!”

To me, Thanksgiving is a special holiday. It reminds me of my childhood, and the 18 years that I spent at home with my family.  It was the one time during the year my mother would pull out her good china and silver. She would cook the meal and I would clean it up. I believe she got the better end of the deal, because it took me hours to polish the silver again so that the following Thanksgiving it would be ready to go. Then after I got married, and had my own family, I was blessed to be able to cook the turkey and family and friends came to my house. It was then when I was able to start my own tradition. I didn’t have china, so I grabbed an ol’ white sheet and started a tradition of everyone who sat at our table, wrote on the ol’ sheet what they were “thankful” for. To this day, the tablecloth is my daughter’s favorite memory of the holiday, and I am passing it onto her. She loves seeing her tiny hand-print and being reminded of what she was thankful for at the time. She also loves seeing the signatures of those who are no longer alive, but alive within her heart.

Present day, my children are now all grown, and two of my three children will be spending this day with their family or friends, and I will find my way back to my mother’s house. My mother will cook the meal and my daughter and I will volunteer to clean the silver.

Yes, each person has a story of what  Thanksgiving means to them,  and as I was thinking about all the free stuff that will be given away this Thanksgiving  to all those who “bust down” the doors of the retail stores, I just wanted to take a moment and share that Jesus is also giving away something for free. It cost nothing, but the acceptance of him, and the good thing about his gift it will never break. It never needs to be returned and once you accept it… your life will never be the same again.

Oh give thanks to the LORD, for He is good. For His mercy endures forever! Psalm 1118:1

ONWARD TO THE FREE STUFF!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Blood Disorder, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, God's Favor, Hope, Jesus, Love Letters, Memorial Day, Save a child

Leave a Reply

