GOING UP!

I was 12 years old the first time I jotted down an Appointment with God, and it seems that each time I go to pen an appointment I’m always reminded of the young girl I once was. So inquisitive. I wanted to know the truth of my heart, and if I only knew the length of time that it would take me to find it, I wonder if I ever would  have scheduled my first appointment.

Last week I went on a trip that would introduce me to a woman who I’ve been talking to for nearly a year.  Kelly Barker and I were introduced by a mutual friend, and from the moment we first chatted on the phone we became instant friends. She helped me with my business, non-profit, and quickly I realized that I could learn much from her.  I was like a sponge trying to absorb everything that she had to say, and the more we chatted, the closer I felt to her. Within a few months of our friendship, her brother, Russ, was killed in an accident, and that is when I was able to share with her the knowledge that I had learned about life, death, and comfort.

Now, nearly 10 months into our friendship we finally journeyed “onward” towards each other so we could finally meet, and it was interesting because the moment I saw her coming down the escalator at the airport I felt as if my heart had known her my entire life. We hugged, giggled as girls do, and then we left the airport knowing that the few days we were going to spend together would define the amount of time we would spend together in the future.

Our trip was wonderful. From the moment we walked out of the airport to the moment I took her back to the airport, we were like life-long friends who just needed a few days to catch up to each other, and immediately we started talking about our next visit.

As I was driving away from our visit, my heart realized the importance of communication. Believing in others. Love that can’t be explained, but known.

Through this appointment with Kelly, God showed me the reason He asks us to open the Bible and read from His words. I spent the past year getting to know a woman I had never met face-to-face,  but because we took the time to get to know each other, the moment we saw each other we knew exactly who we were.

And, that’s all God wants. He knows us, because He created us, but what He wants is that when it comes time for us to take the escalator up to heaven he wants us to be able to look straight at Him and know exactly who He is.

I’m so glad I didn’t turn away from my first appointment with God, because I would have missed this one.

“And the Word became flesh, and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory, glory as of the only begotten from the Father, full of grace and truth. John 1: 14-15

ONWARD TO MY NEXT APPOINTMENT!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, God's Favor, Hope, Jesus

2 responses to “GOING UP!

  1. dukedoc76

    Beautiful post, Gina. God bless you today, and each of your tomorrows.

    _____

Leave a Reply

