I KNOW LOVE PERSONALLY…

A few hours ago I called my friend, Shirley, who is at home recovering from brain surgery. A few weeks ago she had to have several tumors removed and as they were going through her body they noticed that the cancer had spread and her outcome was Stage 4 Bone Cancer.

As the two of us were chatting on the phone I could barely understand her. She needs to have a tracheotomy so she can breathe, so her words were  raspy and soft.  At this moment her body is so ill that her lungs are filling up with fluid and it’s hard for her to breathe, and because her body has endured so much in the past few weeks, the doctors need her body to heal. They are afraid that if they put her under they might not get her back.

The two of us talked for about 15 minutes, and as we were chatting I realized that it was her illness that brought us together. Had it not been for her being hospitalized and her cousin, Linda, asking to give her an Owie,  the two of us probably would have never met, but we were brought together because of an illness.

During our conversation the two of us started laughing and Shirley said, “You know we’re going to be friends forever. That’s why God brought us together so when you’re having a bad day I can lift you up and when I’m having a bad day you can lift me up. It’s like when people say we’re in this for better or worse!”

The moment she said, “for better or worse” it hit me… With each person we meet we start out with the better of what we have to offer, and then as we get to know each other, we get to see the truth of what is truly within us.  a I met Shirley when she was/is going through her worse, and  what I found was this…

1 If I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but do not have love, I have become a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. 2 And if I have the gift of prophecy, and know all mysteries and all knowledge; and if I have faith, so as to remove mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. 3 And if I give all my possessions to feed the poor, and if I deliver my body to be burned, but do not have love, I am nothing. 4 Love is patient, love is kind, and is not jealous; love does not brag and is not arrogant, 5 does not act unbecomingly; it does not seek its own, is not jealous; love does not brag and is not arrogant, 5 does not act unbecomingly  it does not seek its own, is not provoked, does not take into account a wrong suffered, 6 does not rejoice in unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth; 7 bears all things, believes all things, hopes all thing, endures all things. 8 Love never fails… 1 Corinthians 13 1:8

When I hung the phone I looked to heaven and  said out loud, “I know love personally!”

At this moment there’s a woman who can’t sleep lying down because if she does she’ll drown, but in the midst of the uncertainty within her life God showed me the meaning of one can be stripped of all that one owns, but as long as one continues to love others… love is ever lasting.

If anyone happens to find my Appointment with God today, could please join me in prayer for Shirley Brown. I would like to pray that God gives  “love” a second chance at enjoying the rest of the best of what “life” has to offer her.

L.B.

ONWARD TO BELIEVING!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, God's Favor, Hope, Owie BowWowie

Leave a Reply

