GOD’S NOT LATE… I’M JUST EARLY!

For the past few days I’ve been chatting with many people who have been diligently working on their dreams, and the one thing  I’ve noticed with each of us is our dreams have taken longer than most would want to wait.

Then this morning I woke up early and turned on the television and, THE VOW was playing. I’ve never read the book and decided that I would grab a cup of coffee and watch a “chick” flick.

For those of you who haven’t read the book or seen the movie it’s about a married couple who are in love, they get in a car accident, and the wife loses her memory. She has no recollection of the life that she had with the man she loved and she had to take time to remember who she was, and her husband had to wait for her to remember him.

The one thing that I loved about watching this movie was the fact that it showed two aspects of time. The wife had to learn how to find her way back to her husband, and her husband had to learn how to have patients for his wife to catch up to him.

When the movie was over I realized something about God, life and knowing with all of my heart that the direction I’m heading is the right one. I now believe that God is much like the husband in this movie. He knows us so intimately and loves each of us so much that He’s willing to wait for us to learn all that we have to learn so that when we finally arrive at our dream we will remember the person who patiently waited for each of us to arrive.

3 And we have confidence in the Lord concerning you, that you are doing and will continue to do what we command. 5 And may the Lord direct your hearts into the love of God and into the steadfastness of Christ. 2 Thessalonians 3: 4-5

Another thing that God has been reminding my heart over and over again is the fact that maybe it’s taken over 25 years to get to where I’m going, but I no longer believe that working on one thing all of one’s life is a waste of time. What I now see and understand is that God is not late with His timing… I’m just early because I couldn’t wait to get there.

Sometimes it takes a lifetime to understand the message of what is written in the Bible, but sitting here this morning I feel so blessed that it’s taken me half of my life to understand that true love is nothing more than getting to know someone and then deciding to continue on loving and trusting them forever.

I have no idea how long it’s going to take me to get to where I’m going, but I’d rather arrive early than never arrive at all.

If anyone happens to read my tiny Appointment with God today and you feel that the dream that has been placed within your heart is taking too long… Always remember, God’s not late, you’re just early! And who doesn’t want to arrive early, because I know I don’t want to miss the surprise!

L.B.

ONWARD TO MY SURPRISE!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Faith, Finding Yourself, GOD, God's Favor, Hope, Jesus, Love Letters

2 responses to “GOD’S NOT LATE… I’M JUST EARLY!

  1. dukedoc76

    Thanks Gina.you always hit to point head on, and wonderfully so. You are a great blessing as God works though your writing.

    _____

Leave a Reply

