SERVING OTHERS…

 

I just received a phone call from a friend of mine. The phone call started out like any normal phone call. How are you? What have been up to? How are the kids? Everything was great until she asked about Owie BowWowie and wondered how much longer I was going to try to keep him going. “Don’t you think that after 25 years of trying so hard you should throw in the towel and worry about your financial future?” she stated.

For a  moment I sat in silence and thought, Well, it’s not me who keeps him going, but all those who have given him to children and those who have come along to help him live another day. It’s the daily prayers where each morning I wake up and ask God if He still wants me to keep going. When one believes that they are doing what they do because God is the one who has inspired them to do it, and then when one prays for help, and help arrives… I would say there’s more to a dream than how much time it takes to get there. 

When I didn’t respond she asked, “Do you know how to spell the word co-dependent?”

“Yep. I can spell it!”

“Well, you might want to look inward and see if you don’t do Owie because you want to help other people who really don’t want to be helped. Just because you know what it’s like to be sick and alone doesn’t mean everyone else feels the same way!”

Really?

As I was listening to her I actually stopped and opened my Bible and I had to SMile when it opened to Matthew 10:35-45.  At one point she said, “Gina.  Are you there?”

“Yes, I am here and in answer to your question about helping others I just want to read you something. Are you willing to listen?”

“If I must.”

“Well, you don’t have to listen. I just want to  know if you are ‘willing’ to listen. There’s a difference between being ‘willing’ to listen and being forced.”

“I am willing.” she replied.

And I read…

20 Then the mother of James and John, the sons of Zebedee, came to Jesus with her sons. She knelt respectfully to ask a favor. 21 “What is your request? he asked.

She replied, “In your Kingdom, will you let my two sons sit in places of honor next to you, one at your right and the other at your left?”
22 But Jesus told them, “You don’t know what you are asking! Are you able to drink from the bitter cup of sorrow I am about to drink?”

“Oh yes,” they replied, “we are able!”

23 “You will indeed drink from it, he told them. “But I have no right to say who will sit on the thrones next to mine. My Father has prepared those places for the ones he has chosen.”

24 When the ten other disciples heard what James and John had asked, they were indignant. 26 But Jesus called them together and said, “You know that in this world kings are tyrants, and officials lord it over the people beneath them. 26 But among you it should be quite different. Whoever wants to be a leader among you must be your servant, 27 and whoever wants to be first must become your slave. 28 For even I, the Son of Man, came here not to be served but to serve others, and to give my life as ransom for many.” Matthew 20: 20- 28

When I finished reading she asked, “What does that mean?”

“That Jesus was sharing love from a new angle.  To serve the people!  Jesus’ mission in life was to serve others and to give his life away for those he served. That it doesn’t matter what the job is, we are to do it to the best of our ability. The most important thing is we never know what a person is going through or how they are going to react when they are given something, (served) and service arrives in so many ways. A hug. A kind sentiment. Food. Money. Laughter. Friendship. The list of serving others is never-ending, and if you believe that I am a co-dependent because I like to help others than you are right. I totally and completely depend on God.”

Now, is this woman still my friend?

Absolutely. I love a friend who feels comfortable enough to share her thoughts and than loves me back so that I can share mine.

To all those who depend on another!

ONWARD!

L.B.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, God's Favor, Hope, Love Letters

Leave a Reply

