HAPPY BIRTHDAY SHAE!

Happy Birthday Shae Marie!
Shae, left, mom, and my oldest son, Glenn (Heidi is MIA)

 

 

 

 

Today is my daughter’s birthday. Shae happens to be my youngest child, and with each child born there is always a lesson to be learned. It’s amazing how much a person can learn from raising children.

It’s funny how each year on Shae’s birthday I’m reminded of the moment in which my doctor came into my hospital room and shared with me that it wouldn’t be a good idea for me to have any more children. I listened, agreed, and he wanted to do my surgery immediately. I asked him if he would give me a few hours to simply mourn the fact that while I was blessed to be given the gift of three children, I would have to cry over the three others that I would never be given the opportunity to bring into the world. For some reason my heart always wanted to have six children, and when my third and final child arrived I had to let go of the dream and move on with my life.

A few weeks after Shae and I were home from the hospital, a friend stopped by to visit me and see our new addition to our family. He arrived with a “box” of wine, chocolate and flowers. He and I sat on the couch and chatted for hours about life and the things that transpire within it. He shared that after being married a few months, his wife decided that she no longer wanted to be married and left. So, he too had a dream that was shattered,  and both of us chatted about how life isn’t always what we think it should be, but somehow it always seems to play itself out.

As he was getting ready to leave my home he noticed that my Bible was sitting next to my couch and asked, “So, Gina. You believe in all that crap that is written within the Bible?”

I simply SMiled and said, “Yes. I do!”

He continued on by telling me that I was crazy and didn’t know what I was talking about. That fools who believe in a God, Jesus, and take even 10 minutes out of their life to open the Bible needs to have their heads examined. I replied, “I will get right on that!”

He SMiled, kissed my forehead and left. That was the last time I’ve ever seen that friend of mine, but today I realized that each year on Shae’s birthday I think of my friend and I pray for him, because truth-be-told, the minute he walked out my door I looked over at my Bible, and then looked down at my beautiful daughter who was sleeping, and all I could think of was, How could I not believe in God after being given the beautiful gift of three children?

I believe in some way my friend truly allowed me to see the truth of what was written in the Bible by seeing it though the beauty of my children.

To this day I understand why God had to send His only Son to live and die for those who wonder, because I know there is no greater love than a parent’s love for their child. It’s a love that is inexpressible, and is only felt within the unseen heart.

My prayer today for anyone who happens to find my Appointment with God is that you always remember that the greatest love of all  lives within you, and He’s there for you day and night!

And to my daughter, “Happy Birthday Shae!” Today maybe your birthday, but I get to celebrate the gift of giving birth to you! Always remember it’s the same gift that God wants to share with you. Remember Him always… and peace will follow you wherever you may go!”

Being that your birthday is September 20th, I went and found a verse from Luke 9-20, “But what about you?” he asked. “Who do you say I am?” Peter answered, “The Christ of God.”

Remember where you come from always!

L.B.

ONWARD TO THE BIRTHDAY CAKE!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, God's Favor, Hope, Jesus, Love Letters

Leave a Reply

