HOW MUCH TIME DO YOU THINK YOU HAVE TO LIVE?

Meet Shirley Brown
Picture taken
September 17, 2012

 

Since yesterday I haven’t been able to stop crying. Not the tears that are uncontrollable, but the tears that come from the heart.

Each day I’m surrounded by those who are hurting.  A parent who found out their child is ill or someone who has lost their job and wonders how they will feed their family. Parents whose children are fighting for the freedom of others and wake up each day wondering if their child is going to make it home, and those who are ill and wonder how to survive their illness and live out the rest of their days knowing that all things work together for good.

This past month I was introduced to a woman named Shirley Brown. I was introduced to her through her cousin, Linda, and since the day we met I’ve never felt so connected to one woman. A month ago I went to the hospital to meet her and from the moment our eyes met my heart knew that we would forever remain friends.

This past week Shirley had to have five tumors removed, and yesterday she had her final surgery. The doctors found cancer which has spread throughout her body. Today Shirley is resting, and will be released from the hospital soon to go and live the rest of her life knowing that only God knows how long that’s going to be.

It’s amazing how each day I meet someone who has been given a card. It’s almost as if life stands up, looks at us in the face and says, “Pick a card. Any card!” We pick the card, and then we have to wait and see how the hand plays itself out.

This morning I was thinking about how wonderful it would be if we each learned to play the game of life together. Almost like the game: Go Fish. Someone stands up and says, “I need to match an extra $20.00 this month to pay my electricity.” And instead of the world saying, “Go Fish!” We’d each stand up and say, “MATCH!” Here you go.

There are some days I know that I write my Appointments with God because I don’t know who else to talk to. It breaks my heart to know that Shirley and so many other people within the world in which I live  are not home enjoying their families or enjoying a day at work,  but so many are waking up  wondering just how to get through each moment.

I know that I’m rambling right now, and that’ okay. I want to get in my car and I want to drive around and I want to heal all the people of the world who are sick. I want to feed all the people in the world who are hungry and I want to hug all the people in the world who are sad.

And it’s within these moments  when  I realize that while I can’t do all that I want to do there is one person who was able to do all of that and more, and I believe with all my heart that person was Jesus Christ. We might not be able to live on this earth as long as we would like, and we might not have all the riches of the world, and at times we might have to live under an umbrella… but I believe that God created heaven so that when we arrived we would appreciate the true riches that we were able to meet within our lives and that was all the people who passed us by each day simply wondering how they too were going to survive.

My whole life all I’ve ever wanted to do was see the true value of a simple SMile and it seems I finally found what I was looking for through those who have lost the most and realized that each day is such a gift that they live it to the fullest.

Today I have no idea if anyone will read my Appointment with God, but if anyone happens to I’m asking for you to please take a moment and help my friend, Shirley. She is needing much help in paying her medical bills and we are raising money to help her. If you would like to know more about how you can make the difference in the life of “one” please read more here! 

And like my good friend Jesus always says… I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

And if you happen to know of someone who is in need of help, my prayer today is that reach deep within your heart and help. The world may try to say that one person can’t change the world, but if we all join together, than the world just changed!

L.B.

ONWARD TO CHANGING THE WORLD!

Leave a comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Cancer, children's hospital, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, God's Favor, Hope, Jesus, Owie BowWowie, Save a child

Leave a Reply

