WHAT’S A DREAM REALLY WORTH?

The other day I happened to find an article about a man named David Sharpe. David was one of many who had a dream of climbing Mt. Everest, and accomplished his dream upon his third climb. As he was climbing down something went wrong and he needed help getting down the mountain. David put up his tent and as those walked by he would say,  “My name is David Sharpe. Can you help me?” The article shared that nearly 40 people passed him going up the mountain, but not one of them stopped to see if they could help.

What really fascinated me was there was a man who did finally stop, tried to give him CPR, but it was too late and he was quoted as saying, “Your responsibility is to save yourself— not try to save anyone else.”

Really?

Ever since I read this story I keep asking myself, “What’s a dream really worth?”

This is what I believe. I believe each person is born with a dream inside them. Everyone has something that is important for them to finish, but at what cost? I know for me, my dream is to give gifts of comfort to hospitalized children, but over the past 25 years I’ve had to wait for the right people who also dreamed of giving gifts of comfort and were ready to make the climb of comfort with me. I’ve had many people start the climb, but then life happens and they have to go back down so they can start again to climb the mountain of their dreams. When this happens than I have to walk down the mountain with them to make sure that they are where they need to be, and then I start back up again… climbing… looking for those who want to climb the dream of comfort with me.

Now, I understand that dreams begin as a single thought, and when one takes the dream and puts it into action it becomes reality. But, I also know that the reality of a dream won’t happen for anyone if “someone” doesn’t stop and help. It doesn’t matter what a person does in life because ultimately each person needs the help of another.

There’s not one job that doesn’t require the “assistance” of another person. Not one!

The beautiful part about what I learned from David Sharpe’s life and death is I now understand why many people don’t come to Christ until they need him. I believe that each person comes to a place within our lives where we say,  “My name is… Will you help me?”  And it isn’t until we have that one moment within our life where we realize that we have no one who will stop to help us. That is the moment when “discouragement” gets down on our knees, looks up to heaven and says, “My name is… Will you help me?”

I can’t help but think how easy it would have been for Jesus to climb down off that Cross and save Himself. I’ve read the Bible hundreds of times, and I’ve never found one verse that reads: “Your responsibility is to save yourself— not try to save anyone else.”

Or have I read where a single person walked up to Jesus and said, “My name is… Will you help me?” and Jesus kept on walking.

Nope. Jesus had a dream too, but his dream was not to save himself, but those  who asked to be saved…

As Jesus was being crucified on the cross…

36 The soldiers also came up and mocked him. They offered him wine vinegar 37 and said, “If you are the king of the Jews, save yourself.”

38 There was a written notice above him, which read: this is the king of the jews.

39 One of the criminals who hung there hurled insults at him: “Aren’t you the Messiah? Save yourself and us!”

40 But the other criminal rebuked him. “Don’t you fear God,” he said, “since you are under the same sentence? 41 We are punished justly, for we are getting what our deeds deserve. But this man has done nothing wrong.”

42 Then he said, “Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom.

43 Jesus answered him, “Truly I tell you, today you will be with me in paradise.” Luke 23: 36-43

How beautiful to know that Jesus’ dream had nothing to do with saving himself, but everything to do with saving those who simply made an introduction and asked!

I now truly understand the “why” Jesus must be asked to save us.

The reason: Even Jesus needs to find those who “believe” in his dream  and want to journey with him.

Praying that if anyone finds my tiny Appointment with God  and are stuck on a mountain and need help getting down,  that you  simply look up and introduce yourself. I promise you the moment you do, you’ll never be left alone on a mountain again asking for help, because…

Help will arrive before you get there!

L.B.

ONWARD TO CLIMBING MY MOUNTAIN.

PS. If you look closely to the picture of Mt. Everest you will see Jesus is waiting for you!

1 Comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, God's Favor, Jesus

One response to “WHAT’S A DREAM REALLY WORTH?

  1. What a great post…with an incredibly poignant analogy. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

