MOMENTS…

Last Saturday I had a meeting to attend and hitched a ride with a gentleman that was going my direction. I’ve only met this man a few times (at the previous meetings) so I was excited to get the extra time to get to know him better. He seemed like someone I would be honored to know.

As we were driving he started sharing with me bits and pieces of his life. He’s 82 years young. Married to the same woman for over 60 years. Is the father of three children, two boys and one girl, and the grandfather to many. He served his country for 20 years, than spent the rest of his life educating the lives of thousands of college students, and now he spends his time giving to others.

During our conversation he got quiet and said, “You know Gina. Life is funny and at times doesn’t make sense.” He continued on by telling me that he lost his grandson this year to suicide, and has had a hard time grasping the “why?”

As he shared with me his heart I too have known many people who have taken their own lives, and each day when I think of them that seems to be the only question I ponder. “WHY?”

When the meeting was over the two of us got in his car and headed home.  We picked up our conversation and then he looked at me and asked, “Gina, do you believe that when we get to heaven  those we loved will know who we are?”

It was interesting to have an 82-year-old man ask me that question, and I immediately turned to him, SMiled, and said, “Of course we will. As God states in 1 Corinthians 15:40, “There are also celestial bodies, and bodies terrestrial: but the glory of the celestial is one, and the glory of the terrestrial is another.”

Within a moment silence fell over the car and I knew we were both thinking the same thing, “But why?”

For the past few days I’ve been thinking about that question. I know within my life I’ve had many adversities that hurt so bad that I didn’t want to get out of bed. I’ve lost those I’ve loved, and have to deal with my own unpleasant illness (that at times) I actually say to the Lord, “Either heal me or kill me, but do something!” And obviously I’m not dead yet, so the Lord keeps  doin’ something!

The reason I’m sharing this conversation is this morning I had a note sent to me via a friend on Facebook. He didn’t share the note where the world could read it, but sent it to me as a personal message and when I opened it,  there was a picture of a plaque which read:

“Happy moments, praise God. Difficult moments, seek God. Quiet moments, worship God. Painful moments, trust God. Every moment, thank God.”

The moment I read it I knew that God had used him to answer the question I’ve been pondering all week. “Why?”

Because…

I know there were times in my life when I didn’t praise God for the good things.

There were difficult moments within my life where I didn’t seek God.

I’ve had many quiet moments within my life where I didn’t worship God, but went to war with God.

I can’t even count the amount of painful moments where I neglected to trust God.

And I know that until a few years ago I didn’t always thank God!

Now, I understand the “why” of “why” people might make choices that can’t be repaired.

Because if people, health, and things fail us, and we don’t have something greater than all those things, than “why?” would one want to keep going.

My prayer in sharing my Appointment with God is if anyone  reads my heart today and you don’t believe that your life is going to be any better than it is today, I simply want to ask you to look deep into your heart and have a quiet moment and seek God because I promise you that this is what God wants for your life…

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11

L.B.

ONWARD TO PRAYING FOR THOSE WHOSE HEARTS ARE BROKEN!

And, thank you Jarrod for simply sending me a note. I will remember it… Always! 

Leave a comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, God's Favor, Hope, Jesus, Suicide

Leave a Reply

