AND THE CREDITS GO TO…

Last weekend I was lying in bed watching an old movie (Ziegfeld Follies)  and before the movie started they ran the credits of who would be playing which parts.  It was really nice to see how they were introducing each person who would bring the screen to life. Now, credits are run at the end of movies and usually I change the channel or never sit long enough to see the actual “players.”

In Ziegfeld Follies, William Powell played, Ziegfeld, Myrna Loy played Ziegfeld’s second wife, and the cast of players were many.  The interesting part was as I was watching the movie I wasn’t following the story line, but started to think about all the people within my life that play a role within my life, and for the past week I’ve been making my list of players. My list is rather long, but here’s an example:

God: Jesus Christ

Husband: Kenny Woods

Son: Glenn Gippner

1st Daughter: Heidi Gippner

2nd Daughter: Shae Gippner

Daughter-in-law: Heather Gippner

1st Granddaughter: Cady

2nd Granddaughter: Brooklyn

Mother: Carol Strum

1st Father: Richard Kimpton

2nd Father: John Strum

Sister: Ann Strum

Brother: Matt Strum

Best Friend(s)

Melody Blaz

Janice Moon

Joy Sakata

Linda Senn

Lynden Blossom

Kelly Barker

Linda Brown

ETC… THIS LIST IS WAY TOO LONG TO LIST AND I LISTED THEM IN ORDER OF HOW LONG I’VE KNOWN THEM. Please know that all my friends are loved equally, and if I had enough hours I would list all my friends, because I love them all.

The point that I’m making here is that each person has many players within their lives because without them there would be no story, and no one to tell our story to. And each day our story lines change. New characters are introduced within our lives, and each time a new player walks through the door that is when our lives change.

It’s interesting because as I look at all the players within my life I know they are there because of a choice. Once I met them, we chose to continue on being involved in each of our lives and creating new stories, and to be honest… when I looked at the names of those I credit as players within my life it validated why God created His own book of life, and why one has to choose to become one of His players!

First of all, like any movie, one must audition to be able to play the part, and that always involves knocking on the door that reads: AUDITION

20 Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me. Revelation 3:20

And once we decide that we want to be part of God’s life and be players within His story that is when He adds our name to His book of players:

11 Then I saw a great white throne and him who was seated on it. The earth and the heavens fled from his presence,and there was no place for them. 12 And I saw the dead, great and small, standing before the throne, and books were opened. Another book was opened, which is the book of life. The dead were judged according to what they had done as recorded in the books. 13 The sea gave up the dead that were in it, and death and Hades gave up the dead that were in them, and each person was judged according to what they had done. 14 Then death and Hades were thrown into the lake of fire. The lake of fire is the second death. 15 Anyone whose name was not found written in the book of life was thrown into the lake of fire. Revelation: 20:11-15

Now, I know to some this verse might seem a little drastic, but I know personally, there have been players within my life that didn’t want to co-star within my life, so therefore;  I have not added their names to the book of players within my life.

I guess the important part of the plot that is written within the Bible is this… One either wants to play a role in God’s life or doesn’t.  And within each day God gives us another “scene” to see how we’re going to play it out. At the end of each persons life we’ll be able to see where our credits ran, and the beautiful thing is we each get to make that decision.

My small prayer today for anyone who reads my Appointment with God is that if you’re not sure if you want to play a role within God’s life, I highly suggest that you read the script. You’ll find it in the Bible. It begins in Genesis and ends in Revelation.

L.B.

ONWARD TO STUDYING MY LINES!

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, God's Favor, Hope, Love Letters

Leave a Reply

