WHEN I WASN’T LOOKING…

Last night I was chatting with my husband and his friend when I commented that my life always seemed to change when I wasn’t looking. What started the conversation was when I said:

“I found my husband when I wasn’t looking!” (Wasn’t going to get married again!)

“I gained an extra 20 pounds when I wasn’t looking!” (At the scale!)

“My dog ran away the other day when I wasn’t looking!”  (As the gate closed!)

“The engine in my car blew up when I wasn’t looking!” (At my gauges!)

“My first husband left me when I wasn’t looking!” (Walked out when I was sleeping!)

“My health failed me when I wasn’t looking!” (Not paying attention to the warning signs!)

I went on for about 15 minutes about all the things that have happened within my life when I wasn’t looking, and through my laughter I realized how much truth there is to not looking!

All morning I’ve been thinking about how much my life is changing. All the things I used to be able to do I will now have to learn to do them differently, and all the things I wanted to do… I will have to “look” for a different way to do them, but what I did find in the midst of not looking  was I realized that God saw everything. He knew everything that would transpire during the moments within my life when I wasn’t looking and what I can “see” is that the most important thing that I’ve ever “looked” for is the truth, because at this exact moment within my life if I didn’t know with all my heart that after, looking into Jesus, the author and the finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God… Hebrews 12:2 

Than what would I look for?

Okay. Today is July 30, 2012, and it only took me 35 minutes to make my bed, nearly 2 hours to take a shower and get ready, and another 30 minutes to put my dishes away, but you know what? I did it! And for the first time I noticed that I was “looking” at how important it is to appreciate the small moments within my life.

Now, I have some work I have to do today, and to the best of my ability I’m going to sit upright, smile, and enjoy the fact that even if I can’t see what the rest of my day looks like, God’s already been there and has shown me that  life is much like the weather. It can start out sunny, but by the afternoon it may become slightly cloudy with a chance of rain! And if it happens to storm … that’s okay. There’s always a rainbow right around the corner.

And if anyone happens to read my tiny appointment with God today my prayer  is that YOU find your smile at the end of your rainbow!

L.B.

ONWARD WITH MY EYES WIDE OPEN!

 

3 Comments

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, God's Favor, Hope, Jesus

3 responses to “WHEN I WASN’T LOOKING…

  1. Jan Moon

    My dear friend Gina, always and forever your posts make me cry, think, reach farther, ponder and then smile! I love my west coast sister and friend forever!

  2. Thank you for being you and for helping me see the little as well as big things (including the trials in my life) as part of the big picture of the ways God blesses me/us. xox

Leave a Reply

