THE SILENCE OF THIS LAMB…

In 1991 my grandparents decided they would go to the movies. It was a hot day, and sitting in an air-conditioned room with popcorn and a movie seemed like the right thing to do so they looked through the movie ads within the paper and when they read the title: Silence of the Lambs, they “assumed” anything with a lamb in it must have been made by Disney. I can still remember my Sunday evening phone call as if it were yesterday.

The call went like this!

“Gina, oh my gosh. Your grandfather and I went to the movies today and watched this movie called: Silence of the Lambs,  and please do not take your children to see it. It was not made by Disney!”

I giggled on the other end of the phone and asked, “Well, didn’t you see the picture of the man wearing a scary mask?”

“Yes, but we thought that was something the Absent Minded Professor invented to help the shepherd herd his sheep!”

My grandparents are both deceased now, but there are moments within my life when I think of my what my grandmother said next.

“You know Gina. The movie was just awful, but there was a message within the movie.”

“And what would that be?” I asked.

“Well, it seems that some people don’t learn the importance of silence until there is an element of fear. I believe that in life each of us comes to that one moment where something scares us so much that the fear within us silences us, and we can do nothing more than be silent!”

Boy, was she right.

Recently I’ve been silent. Each day I’ve sat down at my computer to pen my Appointment with God, only to find that nothing more than silence arrived. For the past few months I’ve had many adversities within my life, but it seemed that the moment I stopped talking and simply prayed… “Jesus, help me. Please make a way for me where there seems to be no way…”

He showed up!

As much as I want to share all the blessing that Jesus has been giving me I believe it’s best to silent them. I feel that for the first time within my life I now understand what Jesus was saying when he worked a miracle and then asked for silence.

40 A man with leprosy came and knelt in front of Jesus, begging to be healed. “If you want to, you can make me well again,” he said. 41 Moved with pity, Jesus touched him, “I want to, “he said. “Be healed!” 42 Instantly the leprosy disappeared— the man was healed. 43 Then Jesus sent him on his way and told him sternly, 44 “Go right over to the priest and let him examine you. Don’t talk to anyone along the way. Take along the offering required in the law of Moses for those who have been healed of leprosy, so everyone will have proof of your healing.” 45 But as the man went on his way, he spread the news, telling everyone what  had happened to him. As a result, such crowds soon surrounded Jesus that he couldn’t enter a town anywhere publicly. He had to stay our in the secluded places, and people from everywhere came to him there. Mark 1:40-45

Sometimes people compare their lives to others, and when the man with leprosy ran around telling everyone what Jesus had done for him, the hearts of others thought to themselves, Well, if Jesus can do something for that man than he can surely do something for me! And while that is true, our hearts must be in the right place. We can not want something just because it was given to someone else,  and what Jesus wants for you today is for you to silent the fears within your heart and ask him to make a way for you today… where you “believe” there is no way.  STOP… BE SILENT…  AND  SIMPLY ASK.

Because ultimately the goal of Christ is  not for us to boast about what he’s doing in our lives, but to live our lives according to what he did for each of us on the Cross.

It’s amazing how long it took me to learn the “value” of silence, and now that I understand it I want to share the blessing with each person who happens to read my heart today. If God has blessed you with something. I don’t need to know what it is, just simple write at the bottom of this post… I’ve been blessed, and if you need a blessing than simple ask God to make a way for you because parting the Red Sea was nothing compared to what He’s waiting to do in your life.

L.B.

ONWARD TO THE SILENCE WITHIN MY HEART!

6 Comments

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, Hope, Jesus, Love Letters, Save a child

6 responses to “THE SILENCE OF THIS LAMB…

  1. Planting Potatoes

    yes L.B…….I’ve been blessed!

  2. Reblogged this on Revealing The Christian Life and commented:
    “Well, it seems that some people don’t learn the importance of silence until there is an element of fear. I believe that in life each of us comes to that one moment where something scares us so much that the fear within us silences us, and we can do nothing more than be silent!”

    Boy, was she right.

    Recently I’ve been silent. Each day I’ve sat down at my computer to pen my Appointment with God, only to find that nothing more than silence arrived. For the past few months I’ve had many adversities within my life, but it seemed that the moment I stopped talking and simply prayed… “Jesus, help me. Please make a way for me where there seems to be no way…”

Leave a Reply

