THE HAMSTER AND THE HOMELESS WOMAN…

Saturday morning my husband had a dentist appointment in Beverly Hills and asked me if I wanted to take a drive. I said, “Sure, I would love to get out.” So, we both grabbed our coffee and headed down to the city. When we arrived at 8:30 a.m. we realized that the doctor’s office was closed so we decided to sit and wait. While we were waiting I noticed a homeless woman walking towards us, pushing her shopping cart and dressed in clothing that belonged to a woman who was at least four-times larger than she was.

As she approached my car I smiled and said good morning, and she immediately stopped and said, “Yes, it’s a good morning after all!” She smiled again and starting pushing her cart and stopped, turned back to me and said, “Would you like to buy my friend?”

“What?”

“Would you like to buy my friend?”

She then pointed down and said, “My friend is a hamster. I have one more left and if you’d like to buy her I would like to sell her to you. I know she’s pregnant so if you buy one friend you’ll get many!”

Smiling I replied, “Thank you for your offer but I have four dogs and I’m not sure how safe your friend would be.”

“Oh, thank you.” she replied. “Yes, we must always keep our friends safe from harm.”

At that moment I turned to my husband and we both smiled, but when I turned back the homeless woman had pushed her cart out of sight and was gone.

For the past few days I’ve been thinking about the woman. Who was she? Where did she come from? Was she once a successful business woman who rode the elevators in one of the businesses in Beverly Hills, or was she someone who simply loved the street she frequented because she liked watching over those who passed her by?

Each day I’m reminded of life and what it “cost” to live, and there are moments within everyone’s life where we might experience one or all of the following: finances are none,  health is failing, or the emotional moments within our lives take a great toll on our life.  I understand that no one is ever excluded from experiencing something that brings on the discovery of worry, but this woman reminded me that the greatest discovery of all is “friendship!”

When one has a friend, (even a tiny little hamster)  it’s a grand reminder that one doesn’t walk this world alone, because I believe the saddest thing to experience in life is the feeling of loneliness.

What I loved about this woman was that in the eyes of the world she might seem to be lacking the necessities of life, but within the smile that was seen through her heart I witnessed a woman who had everything.

She had a friend.

And more importantly she was willing to share her.

I believe that each day  God places His angels within our paths, and the trick to finding them is to slow down long enough to notice them, because once we do… we never forget them.

13 Keep on loving one another as brothers and sisters. 2 Do not forget to show hospitality to strangers, for by so doing some people have shown hospitality to angels without knowing it. Hebrews 13: 1-2

Every now again someone asks me how I can believe in a God that would allow so many adversities within everyone’s lives, and all I can say is that He loved each of us so much that He too was willing to give away the one He loved, and He did so without any cost  to anyone… whatsoever!

L.B.

ONWARD TO LOOKING OUT FOR ANGELS… BECAUSE THEY ARE EVERYWHERE!

1 Comment

Filed under Faith

One response to “THE HAMSTER AND THE HOMELESS WOMAN…

  1. As always Gina, you brought another smile to my face while I was reading. Thank you. Love you, Terry

Leave a Reply

