THE OPRAH EFFECT…

The other day I was listening to the radio when someone made a reference to Oprah Winfrey and the effect that she had on the world. For the past few days I’ve been thinking about that statement and in some ways it’s true.

In 1986 I was watching her show and she had this amazing woman on who had done incredible things and Oprah said this, “People need to turn off the television and stop watching others do great things and do them!” At that moment I turned off Oprah’s show and vowed to never watch it again until I had accomplished something “grand” and I even said, “I won’t watch Oprah’s show until after I’ve done something grand with my life and then Oprah will call me to be on her show because I will have something interesting to share!”

When last year arrived I was talking to a friend and she asked me if I had seen the last Oprah show and my reply was, “In 1986 I vowed to never watch her show again until after I was on her show, and to my surprise… Oprah’s people never called my people, so ‘no’ I haven’t seen her show since 1986!” We laughed, but in many ways Oprah was right. She was successful not because of her knowing everything, but because she was smart enough to know that she didn’t know everything and added guests to her show that knew more on a subject than she did, and they in turn shared their knowledge with her viewers, and so on and so forth!

For me… If I were to have spent the past  26 years  spending one hour out of each day  (that’s 9,490 hours)  listening to stories of other people  I would have missed that “one” extra hour a day that I had to do something “grand!”

The interesting part was I realized today that I’ve always used that one hour spending time reading the Bible. So, in some interesting and odd way I do the same thing that other people were doing when they tuned on the Oprah show… only instead of watching and listening to what other people have done I’ve spent my days reading about what other people have done.

What have learned from Oprah?

I learned that God used Oprah’s voice to speak directly to me that day, and that because of her words I’ve truly used those hours to find my heart, and in many ways I would like to personally thank Oprah for being bold enough to tell people to turn off the television and do something, because that day, even through she lost “one” viewer,  “God” gained “another” friend.

There are only 24 hours in each day and I believe that the one hour I spend each day with the Lord is what has given me more time…

33 But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you. Matthew 6:33

Because eternity is what was added!

It truly is amazing how every person’s life affects another, and just in case Oprah’s been trying to get in touch with me… I’ll leave my number so she can give me a call, because truth-be-told… each person is “grand” within God’s eyes, and it’s too bad it only took me 26 years to figure that out!

805-497-0534

One never knows!

L.B.

ONWARD TO PRAYING YOU A “GRAND” DAY!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith

Leave a Reply

