WE’RE NEVER TRULY LOST…

A few days ago my aunt and uncle came for a visit. The last time I saw them was a few years back when their son passed away and they filled me in on how his wife and daughters were doing. They continued on by sharing how my cousin, Gail, was holding up with her family and the new events that transpired within their lives. It’s interesting how at times… families can be so close, but then age and distance can  turn families into distant friends.

As our conversation continued my aunt shared a story about my grandmother and the story went like this.

“Gina, nearly 15 years ago your grandmother called me at work. Two young girls had knocked on her door asking if she had lost a White Poodle. Your grandmother took one look at the dog and immediately thought it was my dog, so she replied, ‘No, I didn’t lose a dog, but I know whose dog it is.’  And she took it.

A few moments later she called me at work and said, ‘Pat, now don’t you worry I have your dog and I will keep him here until you get home!’

Now, at that moment I began to worry because my dog was sitting at my feet and I said to your grandmother, ‘Mom, now I am worried and I will be right over.’

When I arrived at your grandmother’s house I walked in and saw a poodle that was supposed to be white, but was completely brown from trying to find his way home. The moment I walked through the door he immediately ran to my dog and was so happy to see him, that I decided since the two dogs got along so well I would take him home, clean him up and then work hard to find who his owners were.

For weeks I tried to find his home, but with no luck I became the owner of another poodle and the two dogs remained the best of friends for nearly a decade. When my poodle eventually died, the other one died within 24 hours, and within 24 hours and one minute I was left with nothing more than the beautiful memory of how one lost dog found his way home to a place where he would be reunited with his own breed, and a loving home!”

My aunt laughed and teared as she shared the story because she  believes that God blinded my grandmother’s eyes from seeing the dirt so that the dog wouldn’t be turned away, but would find his way home.

For the past few days I’ve been thinking about that story and how many times within my life I’ve been accused of not seeing what other people see, but now I believe that there are times within our lives where our heart sees what God wants us to see so we too can find our way home.

He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the hearts of men; yet they cannot fathom what God has done from beginning to end. Ecclesiastes 3:11

When I think of the story of one lost dog I now see how God orchestrated that meeting between the girls, my grandmother and my aunt, and if God will make a way for a tiny little lost poodle He will certainly make a way for us!

16 This is what the Lord says— he who made a way through the sea, a path through the mighty waters,  17 who drew out the chariots and horses, the army and reinforcements together, and they lay there, never to rise again, extinguished, snuffed out like a wick: 18 “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. 19 See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland. Isaiah 43:16-19

Praying everyone a beautiful day. There’s nothing grander than being reminded that God knows which doors He wants us to open.

L.B.

ONWARD TO SEEING WHO KNOCKS ON MY DOOR!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Devotion, Faith, Friendship, GOD, Hope, Jesus

One response to “WE’RE NEVER TRULY LOST…

  1. Thank God we are never alone. Thanks for a beautiful post. I appreciate you stopping by My Journal of Praise and liking Posts. God Bless You!

Leave a Reply

