REMEMBER ME…

Last night I stayed up late making a comfort quilt for the family of a woman who recently passed away. I never met the woman, but by the outpouring of words that have been said about her I feel as if her soul entered heaven knowing that she had “NO REGRETS!”

In 1994 my dear friend, Pat Wirtz, died from cancer, and since that day I’ve been making comfort quilts for families when they lose someone they love. The quilts are made to be signed at the funeral so that when the funeral is over the surviving spouse or family member(s) have a warm gift of comfort that are inscribed with words of comfort from those who attended the funeral.

Being that I’ve always been surrounded by those who have lost someone, I realized early on that after the funeral (within weeks) the phone calls and cards stop arriving and the lives of others have gone back to living, but yet those who are missing the one they love are still struggling with how to go “onward” without the person they planned to go onward with.

Last night as I was stitching this woman’s quilt I had to think about the thousands of other people I have stitched quilts for, and it was fun to remember them. It also was a grand reminder of how each  person  impacts the lives of others!

What I really learned last night was “why” God asks us to do or give to other people, because while I’ve never “personally” met this woman I realized last night that from this day onward… I will never forget her.

I also realized that God doesn’t ask me to do things for other people so I can get the glory. He asks us me to do for other people so I can remember that they were born… they were important… and that their lives directly or indirectly impacted my life.

I believe that’s why God asked His only Son to simply go and do for other people. Maybe in His wisdom He understood the value in the simplicity of doing and serving others because in the end, while I’ve never “personally” met Jesus… I know His name, He directly impacted my life… and I WILL NEVER FORGET HIM!

Today a family is burying a woman  they loved, and within the world in which we live in today… there are thousands of people who are doing the same thing and they each need to know that someone “remembered” the one they loved.

Last night as I was putting the quilt together I added these words and I want to share them with you.

REMEMBER ME!

When you remember me it means that  you have carried something of who I am with you, and that I have left some mark of who I am on who you are.

It means that you can summon me back to your heart even though heaven may stand between us.

For as long as you remember me, I am always with you.

Until we meet again…

ONWARD!

And within the simplicity of my life when I go to sleep each night, I thank God for giving me another day, and then I simply pray, “If I don’t wake up in the morning, Jesus please… REMEMBER ME!

42And he was saying, “Jesus, remember me when You come in Your kingdom!” 43And He said to him, “Truly I say to you, today you shall be with Me in Paradise.” Luke 23:42

Praying for all the families who are missing the one they love today. Heaven is only a memory away!

L.B.

ONWARD TO REMEMBERING ALL THOSE I LOVE!

2 Comments

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Friendship, GOD, Hope, Jesus, Love Letters

2 responses to “REMEMBER ME…

  1. Gina

    Such precious truths, such a generous and heartfelt gift for the spirit in pain. You were gifted by God to bring consolation and compassion to the hurting. I am honored to know you, even in the small capacity that I do. Hugs!!

  2. Gina,
    How sweet you are to write such a beautiful note.
    I feel honored and blessed to know you too, and there is no “small” when it comes to friendships. You and I will always be friends!
    Hugs!
    Onward by faith!

Leave a Reply

