THE YEAR WAS 1945…

A few days ago my husband was helping a friend clean out his storage unit when he walked in the house and said, “Hey, here’s something you’re going to want to take a moment to look at!”

He knew that it wouldn’t take me long to reach for the brief case and unlock the key to the treasures in which I would find.

What did I find?

A case that was filled with envelopes and stamps dating back to the 1800’s.

For the past few evenings I have been going through the brief case and I noticed that with each stamp I carefully held my mind seemed to wonder where the stamp was sent and to whom?

Then last night I found a postcard that had the date: 1945. Within the postcard was a calendar and January, February and March had little tiny x’s marked within the date. I then turned it over and I found these words that were written:

My Husband,

I hope we don’t have soo many day’s as cross off, sill we can be back together . I love you so much my own Willie. Always your own & loving wife, Norma

As I was holding the card I had to wonder if Willie was in World War II. If so, did he make it back to his loving wife, or did Willie find his way to the Battle of Iwo Jima. If so was he was of the lucky one’s who was able to return or did Willy become one of the 26,000 American Casualties of whom over 12,000 of those men were either killed or missing.

It was amazing to me how one post card filled with nothing more than dates crossed off and a wife’s loving sentiments to her husband made me wonder what ever happened to Willie and Norma.

Today we have  so many ways of communicating with those we love. Through the advancement of technology within the flip of our wrists and the movement of our fingers we can reach out to those we love within an instant, and this postcard became a reminder to me that generations before  were not blessed with instantly being connected to those they loved.

It also reminds me how true and valuable the Bible is. Just like Norma had written little tiny x’s on a tiny postcard and then wrote her heart down to the one she loved so that he too could count the days with her… that is what I see each and every time I open the Bible. I find these tiny little love letters that were written by those thousands of years ago who want to remind us the message of Jesus, and the message seems to be the same as Norma’s. Jesus can’t wait until we’re all together again too!

14 Let not your heart be troubled: ye believe in God, believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also. John 14: 1-3

It’s within the simple moments within my life where I’m reminded that life is all about love, because  I’ve never met anyone who didn’t want someone to be waiting for them when they returned home!

L.B.

ONWARD TO THE STAMPS!

Leave a comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, Hope, Iwo Jima, Jesus, Love Letters, Word War II

Leave a Reply

