IT NEVER PAYS ENOUGH…

… To try to get ahead of God!

When I started blogging my Appointments with God I promised myself that I was going to get up each day and spend time with the Lord, and when my heart heard what it was that He wanted me to remember I would write it down so I wouldn’t forget.

I noticed that after 177 appointments my heart got quiet. I still continued to get up each day read the Bible and would then go  about my day looking for a message and it seemed like nothing was happening.

Then I started to notice this past week that everything I planned for got cancelled, and when that happened my husband began to question whether or not the things that I work on each day are what I’m supposed to continue working on.

I get it. It’s hard to wait on God’s timing when one lives within the world!

So, this morning I came into my office, opened my Bible and immediately I was reminded about Abraham and how God promised him that He was going to be the “father of many nations.”

The moment goes like this…

1 Now when Abram, was ninety-nine years old, the LORD appeared to Abram and said to him, “I am God Almighty; Walk before Me, and be blameless. 2 “And I will establish My covenant between Me and you, And I will multiply you exceedingly.” 3 And Abram fell on his face, and God talked with him saying,

4 “As for Me, behold, My covenant is with you, And you shall be the father of a multitude of nations. 5 “No longer shall your name be called Abram, But your name shall be Abraham; For I will make you the father of a multitude of nations.

6 “And I will make you exceedingly fruitful, and I will make nations of you, and kings shall come forth from you. 7 “And I will establish My covenant between Me and you and your descendants after you throughout their generations for an everlasting covenant, to be God to you and to your descendants after you. 8 “And I will give to you and to your descendants after you, the land of your sojournings, all the the land of Canaan, for an everlasting possession; and I will be their God.”

9 God said further to Abraham, “Now as for you, you shall keep My covenant, you and your descendants after you throughout their generations… Genesis 17: 1-9

Then God continues on to Abraham’s wife…

15 Then God said to Abraham, “As for Sarai your wife, you shall not call her name Sarai, but Sarah shall be her name. 16 “And I will bless her, and indeed I will give you a son by her. Then I will bless her, and she shall be the mother of all nations; kings of peoples shall come from her.” 17 Then Abraham fell on his face and laughed, and said in his heart, “Will a child be born to a man one hundred years old? And will Sarah, who is ninety years old, bear a child?”

18 And Abraham said to God, “Oh that Ishmael might live before Thee!” 19 But God said, “No, but Sarah your wife shall bear you a son, and you shall call his name Isaac; and I will establish My covenant with him for an everlasting covenant for his descendants after him. 20 “And as for Ishmael, I have heard you; behold, I will bless him, and will make him fruitful, and will multiply him exceedingly. He shall become the father of twelve princes, and I will make him a great nation. 

21 “But my covenant I will establish with Isaac, whom Sarah will bear to you at this season next year.” 22 And when He finished talking with him, God went up from Abraham.” Genesis 17: 15-21

A year later Isaac was born.

The interesting part of this story is what happened before Abram was Abraham and Sarai was Sarah…

1 Now Sarai, Abram’s wife had borne him no children, and she had an Egyptian maid whose name was Hagar. 2 So Sarai said to Abram, “Now behold, the Lord has prevented me from bearing children. Please go in to my maid; perhaps I shall obtain children through her.” And Abram listened to the voice of Sarai.

3 And after Abram had lived ten years in the land of Canaan, Abram’s wife Sarai took Hagar the Egyptian, her maid, and gave her to her husband Abram as his wife. 4 And he went it to Hagar, and she conceived; and when she saw that she had conceived, her mistress was despised in her sight. 5 And Sarai said to Abram, “May the wrong done me be upon you. I gave my maid into your arms; but when she saw that she had conceived, I was despised in her sight. May the Lord judge between you and me.” Genesis 16: 1-5

Abraham was eighty-six years old when Hagar gave birth to Abram’s son, Ishmael. It would then be another 13 years before Abram became Abraham and 14 years before Abraham had a son named Isaac.

The moral to my sharing this appointment is that there are moments within my life where I need to remember to not get ahead of God. To always remember that His timing is perfect and to keep my heart free from worry and fear because once fear arrives that is when faith is forgotten.

L.B.

ONWARD BY FAITH!

And, if anyone happens to read my heart today… just remember that if God has put something on your heart to do, don’t allow fear and worry to get in your way. Just do the next thing as you wait on the Lord! I promise you, He’ll show up when the timing is perfect!

He always does!

 

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, Hope, Jesus

6 responses to “IT NEVER PAYS ENOUGH…

  1. G.

    Thank you, friend. Reading this WAS in His perfect timing.
    Thank you for your obedience, it has ripples that you’ll never know the effect of. Perhaps THIS is your blessing today…. blessed to be a blessing!

  2. Planting Potatoes

    amen! reminds me of a quote I read some time ago…..”no matter how long we have to wait for God’s timing, he will never be late.”

  3. “In the fullness of time” One might say “in the fullness of God’s time”, but all time is God’s and He acts when He knows the timing is perfect. I have witnessed this hundreds of times in my own life, almost always from looking back at where I was, and how I got to where I am now. Once again, Gina, God has inspired your comments.

Leave a Reply

