ALMOST THERE!

When one arrives at the end of their trail it’s an interesting place to be.  My end-of-road always looks similar. I’ve always loved the scenery of the 1800’s, so when I get to the place where my journey is nearing its end I always imagine that I’m on a dirt road and in the distance I can see the place in which I will remain until another journey presents itself.

This morning when I came into my office I sat down at my desk and realized that I’m nearing my destination. It’s funny because each time I get this close there’s a little fear and doubt that arrives with it.  I can’t go back on the choices I’ve made to arrive to today, and I must go forward to see what will be waiting for me when I get there.

It’s always  interesting how much faith I have when I’m riding along, but then when I’m so close that I can reach out and touch what I’ve been “riding” towards it’s almost as if I stand still for just a moment to capture every step I took along the way.

A few moments ago I took a break from work and opened my Bible, and when I did I was reminded of the two blind men who were following Jesus, and the journey goes like this…
27 And as Jesus passed on from there, two blind men followed Him, crying out, and saying “Have mercy on us, Son of David!”
28 And after He had come into the house, the blind men came up to Him, and Jesus said to them, “Do you believe that I am able to do this?” They said to Him, “Yes, Lord.”
29 Then He touched their eyes, saying, “Be it done to you according to your faith.”
30 And their eyes were opened. And Jesus sternly warned them, saying, “See here, let know one know about this!”
31 But they went out, and spread the news about Him in all that land. Matthew 9:27-31

I love this story because it always fascinates me each time I read  how … two blind men “followed” Him.  I love how their journey would lead them to Jesus and when they finally arrived at their destination they had so much faith in the one who touched them that they were able to “see” where their journey took them.

I also understand why Jesus asked them not to tell anyone about what had transpired, because each time Jesus performed a miracle people concentrated more on the miracle than  they did the message.

Maybe that’s why I stop and take a rest for a moment. I want to make sure that the moment I arrive I don’t get caught up in the miracle of what it took for me to arrive… I want to  remember the message that was given to me when the miracle happened.

“Then He touched their eyes saying, “Be it done to you according to your faith!” Matthew 9: 29

Now, back to finishing this journey!

L.B.

ONWARD BY FAITH!

Leave a comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, Hope, Jesus

Leave a Reply

