FOR MY SON: YOUR TURN TO TEACH AND RELEASE!

Yesterday afternoon I spent time reading the Parables by the Sea. I’m a fan of parables. I think they’re fun. They make me think, and they make me SMile.

When I close my eyes I can see Jesus leaving his home to go enjoy some “quiet” time by the beach. He smiles, takes a deep breath,  picks up a few shells,  and within a moment he looks up and… the great multitudes gathered to Him, so  He got into a boat and sat down, and the whole multitude was standing on the beach. And He spoke many things to them in parables, saying…” Matthew 13 2: 3

Now, I’m going to stop there because parables are like  puzzles, and I don’t want you to miss the fun. The fun begins in Matthew 13: 1-52, and  I promise you’ll love putting the pieces together.

Anyway, yesterday as I finished reading The Parables by the Sea God showed me that for nearly 38 years of my life, and by  writing what my heart hears daily, He’s been teaching me by way of the parables. A parable is a short tale that illustrates truth, a simple narrative that sketches a moment… describes the visual and gives the end to the story.

And who doesn’t love a good story?

What I love best about my new-found-treasure is this morning God reminded me of a moment that I’ve never been able to forget, but never quite understood until just now.

This is the story of the first time my son went fishing, and God is showing me the parable of that moment.

A father takes his young son of five fishing. He explains to him how the fishing pole works, how to bait the hook and how to cast it out into the water. When the son understands everything that is needed to get the hook into the water the father puts his arm around his son and says. “Once you cast the line into the water the hardest part of fishing is going to be waiting for your fish to bite.”

A few hours later the fish bites and the young son is excited. He can’t wait to reel in his fish, and his father jumps up to help him. The two of them smiling, while reeling in the line, when all of a sudden the father notices the fish is not big enough to keep and has to explain to his son that he must release the fish.

The young son cries, says goodbye, and watches his fish swim away. When the fish is out of sight the father reaches his hand out to his son and says, “Do you know why you had to let the fish go?”

“No!”

“Because it needs to grow to become a fish!”

“Dad.”

“Yes, son.”

“The hardest part of fishing isn’t waiting to catch the fish, it’s having to let the fish go!”

“Yep son… That’s what I’m going to have to do with you one day. I’m going to have to teach you and release you!”

I believe that’s exactly what God does with each of us. He teaches our heart all about Him, His Son, and the Holy Spirit and once we understand what one in three actually equals we are  free to be released back into the pond where we can “teach” all our friends what we’ve seen on the other side of the pond.

That’s what Jesus meant when  Jesus called out to them, “Come, follow me, and I will show you how to fish for people!” Matthew 4:19

He wanted us to teach them and then release them so they could then teach and release another.

I’m so blessed that  I got to watch my son and his father go fishing!

And what did my son grow up to be?

A FISHERMAN!

L.B.

ONWARD TO MEMORIES!  And to my son… If you happen to read your mother’s heart I want you to see how God confirmed the truth of this story within Matthew 4:19    What other date is that? LOVE YOU!  Happy “teaching!”

1 Comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, Hope, Jesus

One response to “FOR MY SON: YOUR TURN TO TEACH AND RELEASE!

Leave a Reply

