ARE YOU A STUMBLER?

This past Friday  I took off my glasses and purposely placed them  where I wouldn’t forget where they were, and needless to say I spent the past few days looking for them. Now, these are not my everyday, drive, shop, live, glasses… but the one’s that allow me to see up close.

The interesting part was I remember taking them and hanging them from the rim onto something, so I knew they were hanging and not simply lying around somewhere.

This morning I spent a good two hours looking everywhere that I could possibly hang something on, and when I finally gave, I grabbed my “other” glasses and went to work. The interesting part was that I had to sit six feet away from my computer to see, and I kept knocking everything off my desk as I was trying to type and read.  Around noon my friend called to chat with me about some important business stuff and I said, “Okay. Break time. I’m going to ride my exercise bicycle while we chat!”  I got up, squeezed my backside onto the bike seat and began to pedal when all of a sudden I said, “You’ve got to be kidding me?”

“What?” She replied.

“I’ve been looking all over for my glasses and they were hanging on my exercise bike. This was the only place I didn’t look, and it was simply two-feet from where I’d  been sitting all morning!”

Unbelievable!

Anyway, a few hours later my heart was reminded of John the Baptist, when he sent two Disciples to ask Jesus if He was really who He said He was.

The moment reads like this…

18 And the disciples of John reported to him about all these things.
19 And summoning two of his disciples, John sent them to the Lord, saying, “Are You the Expected One, or do we look for someone else?”
20 And when the men had come to Him, they said, “John the Baptist has sent us to You, saying ‘Are You the Expected One, or do we look for someone else?’”
21 At that very time He cured many people of diseases and afflictions and evil spirits; and He granted sight to many who were blind.
22 And He answered and said to them, “Go and report to John what you have seen and heard: the BLIND RECEIVE SIGHT, the lame walk, the lepers are cleansed, and the deaf hear, the dead are raised up, the POOR HAVE THE GOSPEL PREACHED TO THEM.
23 “And blessed is he who keeps from stumbling over Me.” Luke 7:18-23

So, what does misplacing my glasses have to do with John the Baptist, two Disciples, and Jesus?

I just learned why it’s  taking me so long to arrive where my heart knows that I’m meant to be.

I’ve been a stumbler. I too have asked the same question that John the Baptist and his two Disciples asked, because truly… if the two Disciples truly believed that Jesus was Christ, they never would have taken time out of their day to go and ask Him. They would have said, “John, come on now. You are the one who Baptized Him. You are the one who asked God for a sign, and a Dove arrived the moment you Baptized Him. We all saw the miracles that He performed, so snap out of it and stop doubting the message you shared about who He is!”

I now understand why God allowed me to stumble looking for something that was right in front of me all morning. I had to understand that I do the exact same thing. I pray each morning that I’m doing the right thing, but the interesting part is that I say that I believe that I’m doing it because I believe God put it on my heart to do it.

So hence the question. If I believe God put it on my heart to do it, and I say I believe in God, than why do I pray each morning that I’m doing the right thing?

And when I read Jesus’ reply to John this is what my heart actually heard, “Now, Gina… you know who I am, but you keep stumbling into me daily with the same question. We can do this the easy way or the hard way. The slow way or the fast. It’s up to you, but if you believe I am who I say I am, than next time you pray, don’t pray that you are doing the right thing, but pray without ceasing that you don’t have to bump into me again!”

You know Jesus is right. I used to think that about my  own children.  I can’t remember how many times I used to say, “If I have to tell you that one more time!”  The funny part was I never actually answered what I would do if I had to answer them one more time; but I do remember thinking if they would just do what I told them to do we wouldn’t have to waste so much time talking about what they were supposed to be doing!”

I’m so glad God made an appointment with me today to find my glasses!

L.B.

ONWARD TO WALKING UPRIGHT!

Leave a comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, Hope, Jesus

Leave a Reply

