I LOVE OWIE!

Last weekend my husband and I were looking through Netflix to see if we could find a movie to watch. Our taste in movies is much different so we always try to find something that we can agree upon. As we were scrolling through the list online he noticed that Passion of the Christ was playing and wanted to know if I wanted to watch that. At first I actually said this, “Well, I know how the story ends so let’s watch something else.”

Now, you’re probably wondering why I wouldn’t want to watch Passion of the Christ.

The reason.

I am a Christian and my husband is not, but each day he listens to me share a “God” story… and for some reason my heart knew that he wasn’t going to accept this “visual” story of the Crucifiction  of Christ.

My heart was right. When the movie was over, my husband was upset. How could a loving God allow His son to die such a horrible death? I tried to explain the “why” of what happened, but being that my husband is logical, he couldn’t find logic in what I was trying to share.

When Thursday rolled around  I had to go to the Post Office. As I was walking out— there was a man standing by my car. As I went to open my door the man said, “Excuse me, but may I ask you a question?”

“Yes.”

“What does your license plate mean?”

I giggled and said, “Hold on. I’ll show you.”

I reached into my back seat and pulled out my comforting friend, “Owie BowWowie.” Owie BowWowie is a stuffed, plush dog that is given to hospitalized children who are in need of a friend while they are going through their medical treatment.

The man laughed and said, “Oh, I am so glad you explained to me the rest of the story, because I truly thought you liked pain!”

“Do you think I should put something underneath the license plate that explains what it means?” I asked.

“No, I liked that it made me think and that I had to ask you. Keep ’em wondering ’til their curiosity makes them ask!”

The man shared he thought giving comfort was a good thing, and then he hobbled into his car. He happened to be parked in the Handicap parking and when I looked down, I noticed that he was in shorts and his left-leg had been replaced with another. This man truly understood the meaning of needing a friend when hospitalized, and as he drove away he blew me a kiss.

So, what does my license plate read: I LOVE OWIE

For the past few days I’ve been thinking about my husband’s reaction to watching Passion of the Christ, and the man’s reaction to my license plate. My husband couldn’t understand a God that would allow His son to be tortured and left to die, and the man at the Post Office couldn’t understand my license plate. Both seemed to not understand that there are some actions and words (when read and understood) actually mean I LOVE YOU THAT MUCH!

Last night I told my husband the story of the man at the Post Office, and I shared with him that truly… the only way to know the story of God is to ask Him. Just as the man asked me my story… God wants each of us to ask Him the story of Him.  One can’t understand  God unless one knows Him.

I have to admit that being married to a man who doesn’t share my faith has been hard, and I can assure you that my husband will tell you the same thing. The one thing I have learned (the hard way) is that love cannot be transferred from one person to another. Just because I love someone doesn’t mean that someone else is going to love them the way I do, and that is why Jesus simply says... 34 A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. 35 By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”John 13:34-35

There is one commonalty that the Christian and the Atheist must have to be able to co-exist and that is exactly what Jesus says… “Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.

It’s amazing how I truly never understood what that verse meant until this week. It’s not up to me to tell someone I love what to believe, but to love the one in which I believe in.  I believe in God, the Son and the Holy Spirit, and I believe my husband has the same love for me that I have for him. We don’t understand each other, but if we keep having to fight for what we believe in than we’ve both completely missed the message of love!

L.B.

ONWARD TO PUTTING MY BOXING GLOVES DOWN!


1 Comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, Hope, Jesus

One response to “I LOVE OWIE!

  1. Planting Potatoes

    One thing that helped me finally accept the sacrifice of Jesus Christ, was the realization that a gift of such magnitude could never be explained with man’s logic…….what a great post today!

Leave a Reply

