THE SIMPLICITY OF A SEED!

Recently God asked my heart to finish a book that I thought I was complete. To be honest I couldn’t understand how I could finish something that I thought was finished, so I waited until I understood what I was neglecting to share. When I was able to understand what needed to be added I moved onward!

A few days into my journey I was reading in John when I read:

27 And At this point His disciples came, and they marveled that He had been speaking with a woman; yet no one said, “What do You seek?” or, “Why do You speak with her?”
28 So the woman left her waterpot, and went into the city, and said to the men,
29 “Come, see a man who told me all the things that I have done; this is not the Christ, is it?”
30 They went out of the city, and were coming to Him.
31 In the meanwhile the disciples were requesting Him, saying, “Rabbi, eat.”
32 But he said to them, “I have food to eat that you do not know about.”
33 The disciples therefore were saying to one another, “No one brought Him anything to eat, did he?”
34 Jesus said to them, “My food is to do the will of Him who sent Me, and to accomplish His work.
35. “Do you not say, ‘There are yet four months, and then comes the harvest’? Behold, I say to you, lift up your eyes, and look on the fields, that they are white for harvest.
36 “Already he who reaps is receiving wages, and is gathering fruit for life eternal; that he who sows and he who reaps may rejoice together.
37 “For in this case the saying is true, ‘One sows, and another reaps.’
38 “I sent you to reap that for which you have not labored; others having labored, and you have entered into their labor.” John 4: 27-38

WOW!

When I was raising my children I farmed. We raised everything from vegetables to livestock, and when the harvest came to town we were able to eat the fruits of our labor, and then sell what we couldn’t eat. We also gave to those who could not afford to eat, but yet could not survive without nourishment.

This morning I spent a few hours in my garden, when I realized something…

My whole life I have always had a garden. I love to take a seed, place it within the soil, nourish it with water and then look each morning to see if the seed would receive the water so that it would be able to grow. I also realized that without the rain, a friendly heart must take a moment to bring water to the plant. For without the faithfulness of one who believes that the plant is worth watering the plant will not thrive, but die.

Within the simplicity of a garden Jesus is absolutely correct when He said, “38 “I sent you to reap that for which you have not labored; others having labored, and you have entered into their labor.” John 4:38

What a perfect illustration of what Christ did on the Cross. For no one can live without food and water, but God is the one who created the seed and the water, and all He’s reminding us to do is to plant the seed and then give it a little water…

And, I was thinking about a time when I stopped by a woman’s home because I heard that she and her children were hungry. I knocked on her front door and she SMiled when she saw me, but then when I went to hand her vegetables she wouldn’t take them. Her pride got in the way. So, I waited a few days and when I knew she was taking her children to school I dropped the vegetables off on her front porch.  Interested to see if she would take them or throw them away I parked my car on the corner and I waited. When she returned I watched her get out of her car, look in the bag, look around to see if anyone was watching, SMiled… and then with a glad heart she took the bag of vegetables in her home.

I learned a great lesson about the gift of receiving a gift and pride.

Had she not allowed her pride to get in the way of the “free” gift she would have been able to eat the vegetables within the day in which I picked them, but because she waited… she missed the best of what I had to give.

And that is why I know that Jesus is the way, the truth and the life. Our best can only last but for a short time, but His best… can last for all of eternity.

And this is the most important seed I could ever plant… If anyone is reading this today and hasn’t accepted the “free” gift of salvation into your heart, my prayer is that you take it. And while I won’t be watching you receive the gift, God will, and now I know why. I parked my car across the street and waited because I wanted to see if she would SMile, and if she did… I didn’t want to miss it.

That’s why God watches over each of us. He doesn’t want to miss the moment in which we take His “FREE” gift, because the moment we do… that is the moment we SMile!

ONWARD TO MY GARDEN! It’s amazing what I learn there!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Cancer, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, Hope, Jesus

One response to “THE SIMPLICITY OF A SEED!

  1. Planting Potatoes

    Amen!

Leave a Reply

