GOT DOUBTS?

 

I don’t believe there  has ever been  written anything greater than the Bible, and I love how the Bible shares  hidden secrets that can only be revealed if one choses to read them.

Each day I truly spend a few hours reading through words that seem to come alive each and every time I read them.

Today was no different.

Last week God inspired my heart to do something, and without doubting, I got to work with excitement. As I was working I realized  that my normal doubting and questioning were nowhere to be found, just explainable excitement, that now seems to be following me wherever I go.

As I was working this evening I was reading in the book of Luke where Gabriel came to Zacharias and shared with him that he was going to have a son… 13″Do not be afraid, Zacharias, for your petition has been heard, and your wife Elizabeth will bear you a son, and you will give him the name John, 14 “And you will have joy and gladness, and many will rejoice at his birth. 15 “For he will be great in the sight of the Lord, and he will drink no wine or liquor; and he will be filled with the Holy Spirit, while yet in his mother’s womb. 16 And he will turn back many of the sons of Israel to the Lord their God. 17 And it is he who will go as a forerunner before Him in the spirit and power of Elijah, TO TURN THE HEARTS OF THE FATHERS BACK TO THE CHILDREN and the disobedient to the attitude of the righteous; so as to make ready a people prepared for the Lord.”

18 And Zacharias said to the angel, “How shall I know this is for certain? For I am an old man, and my wife is advanced in years.” Luke 1: 13-18

Really?

God just sends Zacharias an angel, and not just any angel, but He sends Gabriel with the best news ever sharing that he’s going to have a son. Gabriel even tells him what to name the son. Even goes as far to share how great he’s going to be. How’ he’s been given the Holy Spirit, and will bless many… even announcing God,  and all Zacharias can say is, “How shall I know this is for certain? For I am an old man, and my wife is advanced in years.” Luke 1:18

I had to laugh as I was reading, and I giggled even more when I read  Gabriel’s reply.

19 And the angel answered and said to him, “I am Gabriel, who stands in the presence of God; and I have been sent to speak to you, and to bring you this good news20 “And behold, you shall be silent and unable to speak until the day when these things take place, because you did not believe my words, which shall be fulfilled in their proper time.” Luke 1: 19-20

I also realized why Gabriel silenced him. There’s nothing stronger than silence, and there’s nothing weaker than the sound of doubt!

And, one actually must  silence the worry to “see” the blessing!

L.B.

ONWARD TO THE BLESSINGS!

And to anyone who reads this… Next time God delivers good news to you, don’t silence the news, but share it with all those who will listen.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Devotion, Faith, Friendship, GOD, Hope, Jesus

2 responses to “GOT DOUBTS?

  1. Great insight on that story!

Leave a Reply

