The Widow’s Mite

Saturday evening I went to visit my brother, Matt.  I love my brother and always have.  Since the day he was born he’s always had a kind heart, and even as children the two of us never fought. I am eight years older than him and was grown and gone before my brother entered high school, and now many years later… my children are grown and gone and I am watching him raise his children.

I’m proud of the man he’s become. He’s full of wisdom and he dreams daily of becoming a CEO of a company, all of which I believe he will one day be the CEO of his own company. Yes, I believe that Matt can do anything that his heart leads him to.

A month or so ago his heart was led to a website that sold the treasures of others, and Matt found something that he thought I would like, so he bid on it and was truly happy when he found out he was the winner.

When I arrived at his house Saturday he said, “Hey, I bought something for you.”

I was having a really bad day Saturday, and went to my brother so I could find comfort. On the way to his home I prayed and asked God to comfort my heart, and the moment I arrived is when he handed me the gift… he actually handed me the comfort I was seeking.

What he gave me was a coin dated between 103 -76 B.C. The coin was minted in the Holy Land over 2,000 years ago during the reign of King Alexander Jannaeus in the century  preceding the birth of Jesus.

What makes this coin of great historical importance is that twice in the Bible, Jesus is quoted as telling the story of the poor widow who gave all that she had which was just two mites.

“As Jesus looked up, he saw the rich putting their gifts into the temple treasury. He also saw a poor widow put in her two mites. “Truly I tell you,” he said, “this poor widow has put in more than all the others. All these people gave their gifts out of their wealth; but she out of her poverty put in all she had to live on.” (Luke 21:1-4)

41 Now Jesus sat opposite the treasury and saw how the people put money into the treasury. And many who were rich put in much. 42 Then one poor widow came and threw in two mites, which make a quadrans. 43 So He called His disciples to Himself and said to them, “Assuredly, I say to you that this poor widow has put in more than all those who have given to the treasury; 44 for they all put in out of their abundance, but she out of her poverty put in all that she had, her whole livelihood.” Mark 12: 41-44

I had never seen such a coin, and  I haven’t stopped looking at it. The reason I was having such a bad Saturday is that many people had been questioning my success with the non-profit that God inspired my heart to watch over called: Owie BowWowie. I’ve never made any money doing him. Seven years I’ve been doing him full-time, and because he hasn’t been profitable in the eyes of a bank account, many people were questioning my definition of success.

For the past few hours I’ve been thinking about the Widow’s Mite that he gave me and God showed me something of value that I didn’t realize until just now…

On my desk sits the tiniest coin I’ve ever seen in my entire life, and the widow’s  memory is attached to it. It’s not called the “Richest Man in the World Mite” or “The Woman who had Everything Mite” no, it’s called the “Widow’s Mite” and the interesting part is that God shares that we are to take care of the orphans and the widows of the world…

27 Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world. James 1:27

 But yet… the widow is the one who became the example!

So, how did my brother answer my prayer when he gave me the Widow’s Mite?

58 As you are going with your adversary to the magistrate, try hard to be reconciled on the way, or your adversary may drag you off to the judge, and the judge turn you over to the officer, and the officer throw you into prison. 59 I tell you, you will not get out until you have paid the last penny.(Mite)”  Luke 12: 58-59

What I believe happened is there is a moment within each person’s life when God comes to our heart and asks, so… do you believe in me? If you believe in me than don’t be afraid to give, for when you give I will multiply your gift. So, when the widow’s heart heard God asking her if she wanted to give to the poor or receive as one of the poor, the woman said,  “‘I GIVE SO THAT OTHERS MAY RECEIVE!”

Each person comes to that one moment within our lives when we get to decide… are we going to be the givers of the world or the takers of the world?   And the most important part of that decision is this. My brother chose to give me a gift… and I chose to accept it. There’s a difference between giving, receiving and taking.

What’s truly beautiful about this one mite is this…

The widow placed two coins in a basket, and I’ll bet that millions of people during the course of over 2,000 years have received her message, and what makes me SMile the most is that my mite took over 2,000 years to arrive!

Proof once again that God always arrives on time.

ONWARD TO GIVING WITH ALL MY MITE!

2 Comments

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, Hope, Jesus

2 responses to “The Widow’s Mite

  1. A great answer to the prayer you asked of me, and for my praying for you, I received the blessing of this writing you shared. Thank you, Gina! We will make it together and Owie will overcome the challenges. Onward!!

Leave a Reply

