WHERE DID THE TIME GO?

Yesterday was my son’s birthday and the whole day I seemed to tear every time I thought about it. 28 years ago today I was lying in a hospital bed holding the love of my life. I don’t even have to close my eyes to remember exactly what he looked like.  Tons of brown, curly hair, a crooked little smile, and peaceful. Glenn was born peaceful.

As Glenn grew his heart always seemed to stay the same. I don’t believe the two of us ever fought. He did things, like children do, but he was never disrespectful.  He never yelled back when I was yelling at him, and he never once told me that he wished I wasn’t his mother. Yep, Glenn was born peaceful!

I’ve raised three children, and each of my children are so different, and it’s interesting to me how within my heart I favor them all. There’s something beautiful, strong, and peaceful within each one of them.

Yesterday I wasn’t able to be with my son so I spent the day remembering him, and it dawned on me that as a parent I seem to remember all the wonderful things that my children have done, and I choose to forget the things that I prefer my children wouldn’t have done.  I also get excited when I hear their voice. Seems like a phone call or an email immediately brings a SMile to my face, and I SMile even more when my children share their happy moments within their lives, and I pray when they share their worrisome hearts.

As I was reflecting of all the things I do as a parent I was reminded today that if I love my children that much… How much more does the Lord love His?

What really hit me today is this. As a mother I was able to train up my children in the way they should go, praying that they would never depart from it, and the “it” I am speaking of is me. What mother ever wants their children to walk out the door and never come for a visit.  As I was thinking about that I realized that God  feels the same way and that’s why  Jesus said, “Let the children come to me. Don’t stop them! For the Kingdom of Heaven belongs to those who are like these children.” Matthew 19:14

It’s funny because the moment my son was born I looked up to heaven and gave him back to God. Now, I see why my son was so peaceful. Who wouldn’t be peaceful if you knew the Kingdom of Heaven was watching over you!

L.B.

ONWARD WITH A SMILE!


Leave a comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, Hope, Jesus

Leave a Reply

