LET YOUR CHARACTER TELL YOUR STORY…

Yesterday I was looking online and I came across a publishing company where they would take a character that a person invented and then turn it into a story. Their tag line was… Let your character tell your story!

At that moment I  stopped what I was doing and looked over at a character that God inspired my heart to create. His name is Owie BowWowie and he’s a stuffed, plush toy that is given to children who are hospitalized and alone. It’s interesting because my whole life all I’ve ever wanted to do was be a friend to those who were ill. I’ve spent many years in and out of hospitals, and have lost many friends, and I understand the “fear” that arrives when one is told they might not survive their illness.

It’s amazing how God reminded me yesterday about the importance of being true to one’s character. For each person God creates He creates us with purpose and from the moment we are born our story begins.

Interesting that I now understand what it means to let your character tell your story. Owie is my character, and God inspired my heart to create him so that children wouldn’t feel alone when they were afraid. I can’t help but SMile, because that’s the message that God brings to my heart each and every day… He’s constantly reminding me that…

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil; for Thou art with me; They rod and Thy staff, they comfort me. Thou dost prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; Thou hast anointed my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely goodness and loving-kindness will follow me all the days of my life, And I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever. Psalm 23: 4-6

I don’t believe that I truly understood what God had me create until yesterday.

Owie BowWowie is given to children without cost. Owie shows up in a hospital room, and is given “freely” with a hug. There was a cost that had to be paid for him to be manufactured, and then  given to a child, but the person who paid the price for him is unknown to the child who is receiving him.

So many times within my life I get challenged with that question that says, “If God exists than why can’t I see him?”

What I’ve learned from giving gifts of comfort to children is that when a gift is delivered into their hands they never question that the person who purchased them didn’t exist. Each child just SMiles and says, “THANK YOU!”

Man… It’s amazing what I learned today. I’ve always said if Owie was created for one person, it would be worth it. I don’t think I ever thought that person might just be me!

L.B.

ONWARD TO THE FINISH LINE! There are millions of children who are waiting for their Owie!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Cancer, children's hospital, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, Hope, Jesus

One response to “LET YOUR CHARACTER TELL YOUR STORY…

  1. Loved, loved, loved this “Conversation”

Leave a Reply

