WISDOM UNDER THE SUN…

After I graduated from high school I decided I wanted to become a Court Reporter. I always loved stories and knew there would always be two sides to every story, and I wanted to learn how to quickly record them. As time went on I realized that I didn’t like the job, but I loved the fact that I could scribe words quickly, and learned to how to read between the lines.

Each morning I come into my office, coffee in hand, grab my Bible, a piece of paper and a red pen. I then open my Bible (I actually fling it open) as I ask God to lead me to where He wants me to read. I then take the skills that I learned when I was a Court Reporter and I read between the lines. I read until my heart hears to write down the verse in which I am reading. When I’m done my paper is filled with the words in which God wanted me to read. For within the Bible are answers to prayers, but one must actually open it to find them.

Today God opened my Bible to Ecclesiastes and I had to SMile as I read words that were remembered so long ago and are a great reminder for each of us. For each day people all around the world wake up and wonder if where they are is where they’re meant to be. We wonder if the gifts God has given us will ever come to pass, and if we are actually making a difference in the life of one who receives it.

Today as my heart pondered many things God reminded me of this…

A generation goes and a generation comes, But the earth remains forever. Ecclesiastes 1:4

That which has been is that which will be, and that which has been done is that which will be done. So, there is nothing new under the sun. Ecclesiastes 1:9

I have seen all the works which have been done under the sun, and behold, all is vanity and striving after the wind. Ecclesiastes 1: 14

And I set my mind to know wisdom and I know madness and folly, I realized that this is also striving after the wind. Ecclesiastes 1:17

Because in much wisdom there is much grief, and increasing knowledge results in increasing pain. Ecclesiastes 1:18

Everything is in God’s timing, but requires man’s efforts. Ecclesiastes 1:24

A good name is better than a good ointment, and the day of one’s death is better than the day of one’s birth. Ecclesiastes 7:1

Sorry is better than laughter, for when a face is sad a heart may be happy. Ecclesiastes 7:3

For wisdom is protection just as money is protection. But the advantage of knowledge is that wisdom preserves the lives of its possessors. Ecclesiastes 7:12

I direct my mind to know, to know to investigate, and to seek wisdom and an explanation, and to know the evil of folly and the foolishness of madness. Ecclesiastes 7:25

For there is a proper time and procedure for everything delight, when a man’s trouble is heavy upon him. Ecclesiastes 8:6

If no one knows what will happen, who can tell him when it will happen? Ecclesiastes 8:7

 There was a small city with few men in it and a great king came to surround it and constructed large seigeworks  against it. But there was found in it a poor wise man and he delivered the city by his wisdom. Yet no one remembered that poor man. Ecclesiastes 9: 14-15

When I finished scribing my new-found clues I went back through them and read each one as if I was reading a note that was written directly to me. The message I received today is this…

There have been many generations before me, and only God knows how many will come after…

Nothing I do hasn’t already been done, and if I listen to Him, He will lead me where He wants my gifts and talents to arrive…

He continues sharing with my heart that what my heart knew long ago is where I need to return to.

I learned that He was right for sharing with Adam and Eve that they should not eat from the tree of knowledge, and He did so because He wanted to spare them the pain of wisdom. When one can see and feel the hurts of others one can’t help but understand the true definition of grief.

And, life is all about God’s timing and our willingness to wait for the timing of others to arrive within our lives, and to faithfully keep moving onward!

Names are very important. To be given a name means that someone acknowledges that our life is to be remembered, and to be remembered at one’s death means that one was remembered during one’s life.  And when one is remembered with good thoughts than their death symbolizes that they lived their life… giving to others.

Wisdom is protection for what matters most, because it’s people and not things… because money has no knowledge of wisdom, but wisdom has knowledge on how to use money.

And it’s true because I do… direct my mind to know, to know to investigate, and to seek wisdom and an explanation, and to know the evil of folly and the foolishness of madness. Ecclesiastes 7:25

Because there comes a day in each person’s life when trouble is heavy upon us, and it’s true that no one can tell us our future because no one knows the complete story of our past… And within a small city there was a wise man. He delivered the city by wisdom… yet even today many don’t remember the poor man.

That was my lesson today to remember the wisdom under the sun!

L.B.

ONWARD TO REMEMBERING!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Devotion, Faith, Friendship, GOD, Hope, Jesus

Leave a Reply

