GOT PURPOSE?

Today I was looking through my desk when out popped a piece of paper that I scribbled on nearly a decade ago. It was interesting because the moment I saw it I remembered exactly when I had written it. It was after my divorce and I was looking for purpose within my life. When I was done writing I took the paper and folded it like  a fan and then placed it in a notebook, and today the fanned paper found its way back into my view.

As I unfolded it I had to smile. This is what I wrote:

Do you know the purpose for your life?

What do you want to focus on?

When I finished writing the above, I then wrote down my favorite poem by: Ralph Waldo Emerson, because I realized I wanted the same things he did…

To laugh often and much
to win the respect of intelligent people
and the affection of children;
to earn the appreciation of honest critics
and endure the betrayal of false friends;
to appreciate beauty;
to find the best in others;
to leave the world a bit better,
whether by a healthy child,
a garden patch
or a redeemed social condition;
to know even one life has breathed easier
because you have lived.
This is to have succeeded.

I then decided I would continue on with quotes that would inspire me, and I wrote... Do something you hate every day, just for the practice. ~ John C. Maxwell

Then I remembered what Abraham Lincoln had said, “Success is going from failure to failure without losing your enthusiasm”… so I wrote that down too!

And, I finished my motivational scribbles with…  A year from now you may wish you had started today! ~ Karen Lamb

And the final thing I wrote was… JUST FINISH!

The interesting part about finding that piece of paper today is that when I wrote it I was beginning my journey, and today when I found it… I was finishing it. I also noticed that when I wrote it I was excited about the possibilities of what my future could be, and today I realized that I lost my enthusiasm in believing that success would actually arrive.

Hmmm!

What I love most about finding this note  is that today was the day when I actually needed to read it. Funny how I’ve been praying for guidance and direction and within the simplicity of my own handwriting God gave me my answer.

JUST FINISH!

And the best part of finding the paper is that I now  understand this verse:  Now you should finish what you started. Let the eagerness you showed in the beginning be matched now by your giving. Give in proportion to what you have. 2 Corinthians 8:11

I can’t believe how much I needed to be reminded of the excitement I once had within my heart!

L.B.

ONWARD WITH A SMILE TOWARDS THE FINISH LINE!

5 Comments

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, GOD, Hope, Jesus

5 responses to “GOT PURPOSE?

  1. Just finish…there is a lot to think about in that one statement.

  2. Planting Potatoes

    Amen! I think that’s what Peter was talking about when he spoke about “running the race.” Nike is well-known for coining the words, “just do it,” but to my knowledge, no one has made famous the phrase, “just finish it.” Until now! 🙂

    • It’s harder to finish something that is hard, than to start something. This journey is going to be the hardest journey I’ve ever gone on, but I’m ready… willing… and ONWARD!

      HUGS!

      • Planting Potatoes

        I agree….and I don’t think God intended us to run this race alone either….that’s why I feel blessed to find so many other runners like you! Hugs! 🙂

      • You’ve got that right… I too feel blessed to be in such grand company. And, I love the name of blog. I used to be a farmer and raised potatoes. How I loved digging them up! Keep planting!
        ONWARD!

Leave a Reply

