I LOVE FLIP FLOPS!

Whenever Easter rolls into town I’m immediately reminded of when I was a child. Easter was the only time my family went to church, and the one day a year where I was required to wear a new dress, shoes, hat and gloves. Easter also brought new coloring books with pictures that had yet to be colored and bright shiny crayons.

The week before Easter always brings my favorite memory because it was the one time a year where my grandparents would take me and my siblings to a tiny place in the desert called:  Salton Sea.  Salton Sea had nothing more than sea and sand, but the memories of the week before Easter always brings a smile to my heart.

Easter also reminds me of Flip Flops. My grandmother used to stop at the Five and Dime and she would buy each of us kids a pair of Flip Flops so we would have something to wear when we were fishing, and something to slip on our feet the moment we walked out of church!

You know it’s interesting because this past Saturday evening I went to church, and the first thing the Pastor did was welcome all those who attend church two times a year. Christmas and Easter, which is now tagged as :Christers.  He smiled and said, “I would like to welcome all of those who come to church on Christmas and Easter. You know who you are, and I know that we won’t see you next Sunday, but I’m so glad you’re here now!'”

As I listened to him I had to smile, because at one time in my life I too was a “CHRISTER!” and the highlight of my Easter wasn’t going to church, but  camping the week before, and the shiny new crayons that would appear each Easter morning.

This morning I realized how important those Easters were within my life. Some people go to church each Sunday, and can’t remember one Sunday sermon from the next, but looking back on my childhood I can honestly write that I remember each moment that I attended church. I remember the most important story ever told… the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ!

Jesus Has Risen

 1 On the first day of the week, very early in the morning, the women took the spices they had prepared and went to the tomb. 2 They found the stone rolled away from the tomb, 3 but when they entered, they did not find the body of the Lord Jesus. 4 While they were wondering about this, suddenly two men in clothes that gleamed like lightning stood beside them. 5 In their fright the women bowed down with their faces to the ground, but the men said to them, “Why do you look for the living among the dead? 6 He is not here; he has risen! Remember how he told you, while he was still with you in Galilee: 7 ‘The Son of Man must be delivered over to the hands of sinners, be crucified and on the third day be raised again.’ ” 8 Then they remembered his words.

 9 When they came back from the tomb, they told all these things to the Eleven and to all the others. 10 It was Mary Magdalene, Joanna, Mary the mother of James, and the others with them who told this to the apostles. 11 But they did not believe the women, because their words seemed to them like nonsense. 12Peter, however, got up and ran to the tomb. Bending over, he saw the strips of linen lying by themselves, and he went away, wondering to himself what had happened. Luke 24: 1-12

Today is the day after Easter, and for some reason it’s always such a peaceful day. Today always brings  beautiful memories of new dresses, shoes, hats, gloves, coloring books, bright new crayons, Flip Flops, my grandparents, and the life, death, and LIFE of Jesus Christ.

And because Easter is remembered… today,  everything within my life seems possible!

L.B.

ONWARD TO BUY NEW FLIP FLOPS!

Leave a comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, Hope, Jesus

Leave a Reply

