THE ACCIDENTAL FISH…

The other day I was looking back on my life and wondering  what I was good at. I dabble a little in this, and a little in that. I can sew well enough to get by. I can cook just enough so I won’t starve, and I know how to water plants so they won’t die. I love to remember the stories others shared that made me laugh, and I give good hugs when others need to cry.  I also realized that I love to work. I can sit in my office from sun up to sun down and never need to take a break, and because of that I hardly ever stop to make myself something to eat. I also realized that lately I’ve been putting on weight that doesn’t seem to want to go away. Many people have said it’s because I don’t eat, and combined with my age, my body feels the need to store that fat. Well then… if that’s the case, then it’s time to start eating!

Yesterday I decided that I would sign up to receive (via my email) a daily recipe. I thought since I don’t like to cook, it might be fun to learn how to become a better cook, and then I might just enjoy cooking, start eating, and lose some weight.

This morning I received my first recipe and the title of the dish was called: The Accidental Fish. I can honestly write that I don’t like fish, but I LOVED THE TITLE, and immediately I went from thinking about how to cook a meal to the symbolism of the Christian Fish.

After the Crucifixion of Christ, Christians were often put to death for practicing their faith in Jesus, so they worshiped in secret places, and a fish would be painted on the outside door of a house to let other Christians know that they would be safe and welcome inside. The Christian fish symbol is still used today. I can’t tell you how many I pass each day when I get on the Freeway. I once knew a woman who was so mean, and each day I  would pass her and her fish on the road , so one day I ordered my own bumper sticker that read: TAKE THAT FISH OFF YOUR CAR. NO ONE IS THAT PERFECT!

(Actually, I was to chicken to order it, so my son ordered it for me.) I never placed it on my car, but my son and I had a great laugh. And, when I was done laughing it was interesting how I no longer needed to attach it to my bumper!

Now, why am I even sharing the story of the “fish?”

I realized today when I read the words: The Accidental Fish that there’s not a person born who was an accident, and that the first words that Jesus spoke when he began his ministry were, “At last the time has come!” he announced. “The Kingdom of God is near! Turn from your sins and believe this Good News!” Mark 1: 14 -15

And then he went fishing…

One day as Jesus was walking along the shores of the Sea of Galilee, he saw Simon and his brother, Andrew, fishing with a net, for they were commercial fishermen. Jesus called out to them “Come be my disciples, and I will show you how to fish for people!” And they left their nets at once and went with him. A little further up the shore Jesus saw Zebedee’s sons, James and John, in a boat mending their nets. He called them, too, and immediately they left their father, Zebedee, in the boat with the hired men and went with him.” Mark 1: 16-19

So… if you’re ready to go fishing— all you have to do is get out of the boat!

L.B.

Onward to the Kitchen!

1 Comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Coffee, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, Hope, Jesus

One response to “THE ACCIDENTAL FISH…

  1. Planting Potatoes

    I so agree with your words…..thanks again for sharing!

Leave a Reply

