REMEMBER ME?

Do you remember the first time that you knew (without a doubt) that God was speaking to you?

In 1994 I was an Assistant for Lloyd and Darla Bryant, who owned Bryant Arabians. Bryant Arabians sold horses all around the world, and in 1994, Darla and Lloyd went on vacation to Hawaii. When they arrived in Hawaii, Lloyd became ill and was rushed to the hospital where he was diagnosed with Cancer. He passed away three days later.

A few weeks after his funeral I had a dream about Lloyd.  He was in a house that had one staircase that ended at a door.  Lloyd had me walk through the door and when we were inside he closed the door, and I was standing in the middle of a room that had no windows, one writing desk, and a large chair.  He asked me to sit down and on the desk lay one piece of paper and a bright red pen.  The only thing he said to me was this, “When you write, (and you will) sign everything, no matter what it is with the initials L.B.”  When I awoke I thought how odd that was and when I arrived at work  I told Darla about the dream.  The more we talked we figured that it stood for Lloyd Bryant and smiled.  A little while later I said to her that it could stand for Lucille Ball, because  I Love Lucy.  She laughed and that was the moment I started to write  L.B. on everything.  Business letters… memos… it didn’t matter what it was, my dream was so real that I did it without question.

Years  progressed and I found that I began writing continuously. Now, I’ve always kept journals of my thoughts, moments I would want to remember… but this was different.   Short stories, children’s stories, poetry— it seemed like every time I sat down with a pen or at the computer words would just flow as if someone was dictating to me.

One evening I was in my barn with my ex-husband, and the two of us were raking the stalls when I stopped and said, “I don’t understand where all these stories are coming from, and they all seem to be centered around God!”  I was still puzzled, and  couldn’t figure out what it meant. At that moment my ex stopped raking, looked over at me and smiled.  I immediately said, “What? Do you know what it stands for?” He said, “Yes. The words you write are Blessings from the Lord, so every time you write you’re receiving the “Lord’s Blessings.”

That same night I went to bed, and when I woke up I was holding a piece of paper in my right hand, and the pen was on the floor. When I turned the paper over, this is what I had written.

I wake up for gifts so I can share them with others,

Who am I to kid?

What gifts do I have that others would want?

Not a talent, not me.

I write things down when I hear the words,

They speak silently like a dim light.

They soothe me and protect me,

They guide me through the night.

Not a talent I have that I could share…

   I write some words on a pad by my bed,

And then in the morning I read what He said…

Not a talent I have that I could explain

God calls, I listen, I write what I hear,

And never do I question that God isn’t near…

I guess that it’s good

Not a talent I have

I’m never too busy

To hear what God said…

The next night (confused by what I had written the night before) I asked God, “And why do you keep me waking me up to write?”

The next morning a tiny piece of paper was on the floor, and I knew that God had answered my question. This is what He said:  The back of the paper represents the real story.  The story not shared with others, but what lies in your heart.  No one will ever know the real you unless you turn the paper over and finish the story.  There’s a story for you and one for Me and one for the rest of the world to see.  Written for the Lord’s Blessing 2/24/99 (Sometime in the night)

When I finished reading those words I cried, and that was the exact moment when I knew that my dream was real.

This past week I realized that 1994 was a long time ago, and many things  have transpired that made me forget to sign the words from my heart with the initials L.B.  This morning when I awoke God reminded me of Habakkuk, and how He too cried out to God for questions, and that God answered him much like He answered me…

1 I will stand at my watch  and station myself on the ramparts; I will look to see what he will say to me,    and what answer I am to give to this complaint.  2 Then the LORD replied:    “Write down the revelation and make it plain on tablets  so that a herald may run with it. 3 For the revelation awaits an appointed time;  it speaks of the end   and will not prove false. Though it linger, wait for it;    it will certainly come  and will not delay. Habakkuk 2:1-3

Now, without further adieu…

ONWARD BY FAITH,  writing L.B. on everything!

Leave a comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Devotion, Faith, Finding Yourself, Friendship, GOD, Hope, Jesus

Leave a Reply

