FAITH MUST BE EXAMINED…

After dark one evening, a Jewish religious leader named Nicodemus, a Pharisee, came to speak with Jesus. “Teacher,” he said, “we all know that God has sent you to teach us. Your miraculous signs are proof enough that God has sent you to teach us. Your miraculous signs are proof enough that God is with you.”

Jesus replied, “I assure you, unless you are born again, you can never see the Kingdom of God.”

“What do you mean?” exclaimed Nicodemus. “How can an old man go back into his mother’s womb and be born again?”

Jesus replied, “The truth is, no one can enter the Kingdom of God without being born of water and the Spirit. Humans can reproduce only human life, but the Holy Spirit gives life from heaven. So don’t be surprised at my statement that you must be born again. Just as you can hear the wind but can’t tell where it comes from or where it is going, so you can’t explain how people are born of the Spirit.”

“What do you mean?” Nicodemus asked.

Jesus replied, “You are a respected Jewish teacher, and yet you don’t understand these things? I assure you, I am telling you what we know and have seen, and yet you won’t believe us. But if you don’t even believe me when I tell you about things that happen here on earth, how can you possibly believe if I tell you what is going on in heaven? For only I, the Son of Man, have come to earth and will return to heaven again. And as Moses lifted up the bronze snake on a pole in the wilderness, so I, the Son of man, must be lifted up on  a pole, so that everyone who believes in me will have eternal life.

“For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him will not perish but have eternal life. God did not send his Son into the world to condemn it, but to save it.

There is no judgment awaiting those who trust him. But those who do not trust him have already been judged for not believing in the only Son of God. Their judgment is based on this fact: The light from heaven came into the world, but they loved the darkness more than the light, for their actions were evil. They hate the light because they want to sin in the darkness. They stay away from the light for fear their sins will be exposed and they will be punished. But those who do what is right come to the light gladly, so everyone can see that they are doing what God wants.” John 3: 1-21

Yesterday I was thinking about Jesus. The reason he was born, suffered and died, and what fascinates me  about him is the fact that he is the only Christian I have ever heard about who came to the light “gladly!” Jesus spoke often about how people only trust what they can see, and during his time on earth he performed many miracles in which many witnessed, and when he stopped… people wanted him to keep doing more.

Yesterday afternoon I was sharing my thoughts with my friend Jan, when she said, “It’s like my aunt used to say. The teacher never speaks during a test!”

The moment she said that it was like the “light” that Jesus spoke about went off in my head. During my life there have been many miracles that God has performed, all of which  I could see. I trusted the miracles, but then when they stopped happening, and Jesus became silent, I began to doubt them.

That’s what I learned yesterday. It’s true that when a teacher is giving a test, the teacher is silent. The teacher needs to know how much the student has learned, and the student needs to know if there’s anything more they need to study.

I learned yesterday that it’s actually a compliment that the teacher thinks the student is ready to be tested. So, today instead of stressing out that God hasn’t been listening, I’m looking forward to the tests of life that come my way. The great thing is that when God gives a test it’s open book, so   if I’m  not sure what the answer is… I will read what God has to say and trust it!

And, the most important thing about being a student is that the student MUST TRUST THE TEACHER!

ONWARD BY FAITH!

2 Comments

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Devotion, Faith, Friendship, GOD, Hope, Jesus

2 responses to “FAITH MUST BE EXAMINED…

  1. HI Gina, So very true! I had a similar “light-bulb” moment when I first heard the analogy of God being like a teacher giving a test. Mine was while I was listening to a recent CD by Joel Olsten, and that message was as timely as yours and hit me the same way! I love your part about the test being an open book though!

Leave a Reply

