I FOUND THE SIGN I WAS LOOKING FOR!

For the past few weeks I’ve been rather quiet. So much has been going on within my life that I wasn’t sure which road to take. Each day brought a new challenge with a choice, and some choices are not as easy to make as others. Life also gets equally challenging when one’s life affects another. When a person is in relationship or a business partnership, whatever choices we make ultimately affects the life of another. Hmmm. I wrote “hmmm” because that’s where my thoughts have been lately.

“Hmmm!”

This morning I was trying to figure out which road to take when I picked up my ol’ Bible, and noticed the words that were written on the back of my handmade Bible cover. For Thou Lord art good and ready to forgive; and plenteous in mercy unto all them that call upon thee. Psalm 86: 5

I immediately went to my Bible and started reading from the beginning of Psalm 86.

A prayer of David.

 1 Hear me, LORD, and answer me, 
   for I am poor and needy. 
2 Guard my life, for I am faithful to you; 
   save your servant who trusts in you. 
You are my God; 3 have mercy on me, Lord, 
   for I call to you all day long. 
4 Bring joy to your servant, Lord, 
   for I put my trust in you.

 5 You, Lord, are forgiving and good, 
   abounding in love to all who call to you. 
6 Hear my prayer, LORD; 
   listen to my cry for mercy. 
7 When I am in distress, I call to you, 
   because you answer me.

 8 Among the gods there is none like you, Lord; 
   no deeds can compare with yours. 
9 All the nations you have made 
   will come and worship before you, Lord; 
   they will bring glory to your name. 
10 For you are great and do marvelous deeds; 
   you alone are God.

 11 Teach me your way, LORD, 
   that I may rely on your faithfulness; 
give me an undivided heart, 
   that I may fear your name. 
12 I will praise you, Lord my God, with all my heart; 
   I will glorify your name forever. 
13 For great is your love toward me; 
   you have delivered me from the depths, 
   from the realm of the dead.

 14 Arrogant foes are attacking me, O God; 
   ruthless people are trying to kill me— 
   they have no regard for you. 
15 But you, Lord, are a compassionate and gracious God, 
   slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness. 
16 Turn to me and have mercy on me; 
   show your strength in behalf of your servant; 
save me, because I serve you 
   just as my mother did. 
17 Give me a sign of your goodness, 
   that my enemies may see it and be put to shame, 
   for you, LORD, have helped me and comforted me.

Psalm 86:1-17

When I finished reading I realized that I have been praying for a sign in the road, and wasn’t seeing anything. I needed to be reminded of God’s goodness, and I also needed to have some success come my way, for without it, there was no proof that I was doing the things that my heart believed that God was asking me to do.

Then I realized that this Appointment with God was going to be my 150 “blogged” appointment, and for some reason God put it in my heart to read: Psalm 150. Of course I had to read:

1 Praise the LORD. Praise God in his sanctuary;  praise him in his mighty heavens. 

2 Praise him for his acts of power;    praise him for his surpassing greatness. 
3 Praise him with the sounding of the trumpet,    praise him with the harp and lyre, 
4 praise him with timbrel and dancing,    praise him with the strings and pipe,  
5 praise him with the clash of cymbals,   praise him with resounding cymbals. 6 Let everything that has breath praise the LORD.    Praise the LORD. Psalm 140: 1-6

It turned out that Psalm 150 is the last book of Psalms, and when I finished reading it I realized that the book of Psalms is much like a journey through life. Our life takes us on a journey and we each are given a choice of two roads. One road leads us to life, and the other to death. Either road that we choose comes with happiness and troubles, success and failures, giggles and tears, and the sign that God is sending is that through the “good” and the “bad” God is travelling the journey of life with each of us, and all He asks for in return is to: PRAISE HIM!

I can honestly write that since I was given my handmade Bible cover, I never understood why the man who made it for me used the verse: Psalm 86:5. There are thousands upon thousands of Bible verses, but why that one? Today God showed me why, and He used it as the sign I was looking for. God just wanted to remind me to ask for forgiveness of all my complaining, and instead of walking around thinking “Hmmm!” He wants my heart to know that  I’m going down the right road, and that it might take me a lifetime to arrive at where I’m going, but as long as I’m “humming” praises and not the “HUMM DRUMS!” this journey will be much more enjoyable for everyone!

ONWARD BY FAITH!

 

6 Comments

Filed under Faith

6 responses to “I FOUND THE SIGN I WAS LOOKING FOR!

  1. So true!! Thank you for posting this great Spiritual Insight today! I needed it too!

  2. Linny

    I love it when God speaks to us in songs! Thanks for taking the time to share your insights, Gina. I know they are inspired! Love, Linny

Leave a Reply

