THE GIFT OF TIME…

Recently I’ve been having one-of-those days where I just wanted to crawl in bed and not get out. It seemed that everything I touched, baked, looked at, just simply fell apart. Yesterday I actually came into my office, looked at my computer and said, “Why would I turn you on? You don’t want to do anything productive anyway!” And, I also haven’t been feeling that great, so compile health and nothing-going-right, and that  leaves a very moody woman.

Yesterday my girl friend called, and during the course of our conversation I’m sure I complained at least ten times. When I hung up the phone I actually didn’t feel any better for complaining, but felt awful because I didn’t have anything positive to say .  This morning she called me, and I apologized for my rant, and she let me know that it was okay. “We women need to vent every now and again!” She was right.

As we continued chatting she shared something she had going on within her life, and it immediately made me think of this story Jesus shared…

“Again, the Kingdom of Heaven can be illustrated by the story of a man going on a trip. He called together is servants and gave them money to invest for him while he was gone. He gave five bags of gold to one, two bags of gold to another, and one bag of gold to the last— dividing it in proportions to their abilities— and then left on his trip. The servant who received the five bags of gold began immediately to invest the money and soon doubled it. The servant with two bags of gold also went right to work and doubled the money. But the servant who received the one bag of gold dug a hole in the ground and hid the master’s money for safekeeping.

After a long time their master returned from his trip and called them to give an account of how they had used his money. The servant to whom had entrusted the five bags of gold said, ‘Sir, you gave me five bags of gold to invest, and I have doubled the amount.’ The master was full of praise. ‘Well done, my good and faithful servant. You have been faithful in handling this small amount, so now I will give you many more responsibilities. Let’s celebrate together!’

“Next came the servant who had received the two bags of gold, with the report, ‘Sir, you gave me two bags of gold to invest, and I have doubled the amount.’ The master said, ‘Well done, my good and faithful servant. You have been faithful in handling this small amount, so now I will give you many more responsibilities. Let’s celebrate together!’

“Next the servant with the one bag of gold came and said, ‘Sir, I know you are a hard man, harvesting crops you didn’t plant and gathering crops you didn’t cultivate. I was afraid I would lose your money, so I hid it in the earth and here it is.’

“But the master replied, ‘You wicket and lazy servant! You think I’m a hard man, do you, harvesting crops I didn’t plant and gathering crops I didn’t cultivate? Well, you should at least have put my money into the bank so I could have some interest. Take the money from this servant and give it to the one with the ten bags of gold. To those who use well what they are given, even more will be given, and they will have an abundance. But from those who are unfaithful, even what little they have will be taken away. Now, throw this useless servant into outer darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.” Matthew 25: 14-30

I couldn’t believe how appropriate this story was to my life. Maybe I haven’t been given gold to invest, but God has been giving me time. Time to rest, time to pray, time to give him the burdens of my day,and time to get back to work,  and all I did was waste the time He gave me.  It’s interesting how that story symbolizes  the resources that God gives each of us each day. He gives us time, gifts, and knowledge according to our abilities, and He expects us to use our time wisely. It’s not about how much we have, but about how well we use what we have.

So, today… I’m taking my one bag of gold… praying that I multiply my time and gifts wisely, and then I’ll patiently wait for the day when I hear… “Well done, my good and faithful servant. You have been faithful in handling this small amount, so now I will give you more responsibilities. Let’s celebrate together!”

ONWARD BY FAITH!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Appointment with God, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Devotion, Faith, GOD, Hope, Jesus

Leave a Reply

